Do Something For You! Heartwarming Thursday

by Jill Kemerer

How often do you do something just for you? As a mom and wife, I tend to make my family my top priority. I’m grateful for them. But it’s all too easy to lose sight of what I want to do or even be aware of what my soul craves. My family likes seeing me happy. It’s my responsibility to take care of my needs, too.

 

IMG_1787

One of the pictures I framed!

Last weekend we had no plans. No plans!! When does that ever happen? Not very often in my world! My husband and son went off to do man-stuff on Saturday, and my daughter had to work, so I was left to my own devices for a few hours. I’d finished reading a book the previous night. I was in no mood to clean (I’m NEVER in the mood to clean). Did I mention it was hot as blazes outside?

For the first time in eons, I didn’t know what to do with myself. I had a few errands to run, but afterward, I thought about the little projects I’d been putting off. Suddenly I knew exactly what I would do.

 

IMG_0925

Covered Bridge at a local park

 

Our hall pictures needed a change. Last fall I had spent a few hours at a local park, taking pictures of the gorgeous fall colors, and two of the shots were so pretty I had 8 x 7 prints made up. The prints had been sitting in my office closet, unframed, neglected. But Saturday, I replaced the existing pictures with my pretty fall park pictures. It only took twenty minutes, but it made me very happy!

To keep the momentum going, I browsed a local consignment shop and splurged on a few fall items. Again, these leisurely hours made me ridiculously happy.

 

IMG_1791

Love the fall colors and reflection

 

Sometimes we need to take twenty minutes to replace a few pictures or browse a store to our heart’s content. These little things affirm that we value ourselves, that our needs are just as important as our family’s. I learned long ago that no one was going to come in and force me to do the things I love. It’s my duty to make time for myself.

What have you been putting off for “when you have time”? Can you make that happen soon? Do something for yourself!

Have a wonderful day!

About JillKemerer

I write inspirational romance novels for Harlequin Love Inspired.

3 thoughts on “Do Something For You! Heartwarming Thursday

  1. Michelle Lim says:

    Jill, this is such a great reminder! As a mom, guilt is the ingredient in a lot of days’ recipes. But you are so right, I need time for myself.

  2. So agree, Jill. Sometimes just reading a book in the middle of the afternoon is good.

Leave a Reply

