Music Monday: Summer is Over

“Summer lovin’ happened so fast…Summer heat boy and girl meet…” You’re singing it now aren’t you? That famous song from the musical GREASE. “Summer Nights.”

Something about summer love gets the romantic juices in my heart flowing. Growing up, I loved to watch movies and read books about love that happened in the summer. Summer camps. Summer jobs.

Watching sunsets at the lake. Picnicing and stealing kisses under a shady tree. Wiping, ever so slowly, the dot of ice cream from her nose. Gazing at stars from a blanket.

But summer ends.

That’s why I love romances. It’s not about what will happen in the end. In a true romance we know that come fall…or winter…their love will become lasting. They’ll find their way back to one another. Like Danny and Sandy. Like Ronald Miller and Cindy Mancini (Can’t Buy Me Love). Like Johnny Castle and Baby Houseman (Dirty Dancing). Like Noah Calhoun and Allie Hamilton (The Notebook). And many more couples who fell in love in summer and the end of summer (and other factors) ended their love affair.

I happen to love this song about summer ending. Tragic. Romantic. All the feels. It gives me ideas galore on a story premise of summer love…ending…but of course happily ever after at the end!

Have you read a book about summer love that has stuck with you? Or what about a movie? A favorite summer love one you care to share? PS My kids go back to school this Wednesda! Ack. Summer is OVER. I’m crying in my milk here.

photocredit: freedigitalphotos/Suriya Kankliang

One thought on “Music Monday: Summer is Over

  1. Michelle Lim says:

    I always love the summer romance movies. I can’t think of one off the top of my head, but you listed some of the ones I like!

Leave a Reply

