My Baby Grew Up : Heartwarming Thursday

by Jill Kemerer

This past Saturday my daughter (our oldest child) graduated from high school. It was a lovely, beautiful day, and we

were so blessed to spend it with family. I only cried a few tears during the ceremony, which was impressive for me. The next morning I drove her and a friend to the Detroit airport at 4:30am for a marine mission trip they and twenty-eight other kids were chosen for as part of a marine biology class. After staying with them until they checked in, I watched as they went through security and disappeared.

And then I lost it. All I could think was she grew up.

She grew up.

 

High school graduation

This was her graduating class–congratulations, class of 2016!

 

How did it happen? When did it happen?

I could still see her as a sleeping baby, as a toddler with this big grin on her face and blond, curly pigtails on top of her head. With braids down her back at preschool. Playing with our son outside, giggling, laughing, yelling. Going off to first grade and third grade and fifth grade. Volleyball tournaments, math tests, basketball tournaments, tennis lessons, dance recitals, book reports, tumbling, cheerleading, art projects, track medals… Then ninth grade and tenth grade and wait, senior year, already? Running cross country and track. Hunched over a laptop doing homework for hours on end. Sleepovers–so much laughter and pizza and silliness. A few yelling matches when she learned to drive. Dances, exams, proms. So much!!

And it’s over. *sob*

We’re having a big party for her this weekend. It will be a day of fun, food and celebrating. And when it’s over, I’ll crash for a few days. I’ll try not to wallow too much over the end of an era. Each new phase brings something wonderful, and this one will too.

But until then, I’ll continue to smile when those memories hit me. I’ll cry a few tears. And mostly, I’ll send up prayers of gratitude for getting to spend the first eighteen years of her life with her every day. I love her so much. And she grew up.

***

Are you going to any graduation parties this year?

Have a terrific day!

 

About JillKemerer

I write inspirational romance novels for Harlequin Love Inspired.

2 thoughts on “My Baby Grew Up : Heartwarming Thursday

  1. No graduation parties this year. Went to my granddaughter’s two years ago and couldn’t believe how the time had flown! Great post and guess what? Four years from now you get to go to her college graduations! 🙂

    • JillKemerer says:

      Pat, where does the time go?? And in four years my son will graduate from high school. It will be double party time!!

Leave a Reply

