Music Monday – Can’t Help Falling In Love

Can we talk about Elvis for a minute?

I was born about 20 years too late to really get in on the Elvis craze. But given my *NSYNC and other boy band fascination of the ’90s, I feel strongly that I would have been an excellent screamer/swooner at any Elvis concert.

But I have a cSun Studioonfession. I didn’t know much about Elvis (or his music) until very recently. I mean, I knew his name and his penchant for gaudy jumpsuits and, of course, his very unique voice. But I’m not sure I could have ticked off a list of his songs. And I had no idea about all of the movies he’d done.

All of that changed last week. My friends Jess L. and Jess B. came to visit me in Nashville, and we set off for Memphis–home of Sun Studio (where Elvis got his start) and Graceland (his home). Jess Liz and Elivs micL. is a huge Elvis fan, so their visit turned into a bit of an Elvis pilgrimage. And it was fascinating!

We toured Sun Studio first thing upon our arrival. This was the place where Rock ‘n’ Roll was born–a new sound captured and shared from this little brick building on a nondescript street corner. And I posed with the microphone that Elvis loved to use.

And then we were off to Graceland, to the wild and weird home that saw so much music history. That heard the sound of the King of Rock ‘n’ Roll. The house itself is relatively modest–a simple two-story home build in the ’30s. And the insides aren’t nearly as flamboyant as I expected, although there are Gracelanda lot of mirrors. SO many mirrors! And some awesome ’70s fabric wall coverings.

So, you’re probably wondering what does all of this have to do with writing?

Well, during the four-hour drive to Memphis and back, we had Elvis on repeat, and about twenty minutes into it, I was a gooey mess of a swooniness. (That might not entirely be an actual word.)

I can’t possibly listen to “Can’t Help Falling in Love” and not be in a romantic mood.

And “I Can’t Stop Loving You” always makes my heart break just a little, like when my hero and heroine might not be able to get together.

After just a weekend of Elvis, I’m near smitten. And I’m starting work on a new romance novel, so I’m going to need to feel all the swoony feelings to write those fun scenes. Guess I just found my go-to writing music.

Do you enjoy Elvis’ music? What’s your favorite Elvis song?

6 thoughts on “Music Monday – Can’t Help Falling In Love

  1. Angie Arndt says:

    I had a super crush on Elvis when I was a little girl and actually cried when I found out he was married (I was 7 and he’d been married for quite a few years).

    So it was only natural that “Can’t Help Falling in Love” is “our song.” We wanted to have it sung at our wedding but for some reason our pastor didn’t think it was appropriate to sing it in the church. So we sang it to each other at a Valentine’s Day Banquet a few years ago. 🙂

    Thanks for posting that video, Michelle!

    • Liz Johnson says:

      Angie, I’m sorry you didn’t get to have “Can’t Help Falling in Love” at your wedding, but it sounds super-sweet that you got to share it at a Valentine’s Day banquet. 🙂

  2. I grew up in Memphis, so there was no way I could not be a fan! He had such a beautiful voice and such a presence on stage. His music still transports me back to my teen years.

  3. JillKemerer says:

    I love these pictures, Liz!! I like Elvis, but I don’t love him, you know? I do like the songs you mentioned. It’s funny, but the movie Lilo & Stitch got me more familiar with his songs. There are some goodies!

    • Liz Johnson says:

      I totally get you, Jill. I think I liked Elvis before my trip to Graceland. Now I’m moving to the next stage. I haven’t seen Lilo & Stitch in years. I had forgotten that there were some Elvis tunes in it. It makes sense given his connection to Hawaii. 🙂

Leave a Reply

