A Reflection Nook: Heartwarming Thursday

by Jill Kemerer

One of my favorite rooms in our house is our formal living room. It’s light, airy and has a huge picture window with a view of our street and the tree out front. I love watching birds land on the tree and do their thing. I don’t really know what their “thing” is, but they’re so busy and flappy and fun to watch.

 

IMG_3360

Photo courtesy of Morguefile

 

Anyway, I’ve taken to reading my Bible in there each morning. It doesn’t have the distraction of the television the way our family room does, and I think better in the living room.

I call it my reflection nook. Whenever I feel stressed or like I need a time out, I brew a cup of tea and stretch out on the couch. I let the peace of the room quiet my soul. It’s always good.

Sometimes the view out the window is stark, revealing the dull white and grays of a winter day. Other times it’s vibrant and happy, all green grass and blue skies and people walking their dogs. No matter what time of year, I can think in there. It’s as if all the worries inside me scatter and my mind is clear to just be.

It’s important to stay in touch with our inner selves. We make better decisions and feel more peaceful when we take a few minutes to just do nothing, clear our heads and reflect. A heartwarming moment for me is taking a few minutes for myself.

How often do you take a few minutes to sit and clear your mind? Do you have a special place where you feel peaceful?

Have a wonderful day!

About JillKemerer

I write inspirational romance novels for Harlequin Love Inspired.

Leave a Reply

