Two Little Words – Faith Thoughts with Author Donna Yarborough

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Photo by Pawel Ceranowicz

I’m guilty. I confess.

I shoved two words together that should’ve never passed my lips. And I have unleashed them time and again. To my shame, I admit what I said.

I can’t.

For far too long those filthy words––I can’t––built their nest in my mind and made their bed in my heart. Guess Who was listening.

God: You can do all things through Me who gives you strength. (Phil. 4:13)

Me: Are You strengthening me? I don’t feel it.

God: Feelings sometimes lie. Don’t live by what you feel. Live by My Word.

Me: I’m exhausted, I just can’t do this anymore.

God: You can. I have given you the mind of Christ and the anointing of the Holy Spirit. “The same Spirit who raised Christ from the dead dwells in you. . . I’ll never leave you or forsake you.”

Me: This thing . . . this time, it’s too hard.

God: Nothing is too hard for Me. I’ve given you everything you need for life, godliness, hope, and a future. Take every thought captive and make it obedient to Christ. Trust Me.

Me: Of course I trust You, Lord. . . . It’s others and me I’m not so sure about.

God: Forgive and be forgiven. Life and death are in the power of the tongue. By your words you’re justified. By your words, you’re condemned.

And on and on and. . . . Yep, each time something stupid flung from my mouth, scripture, albeit sometimes paraphrased, nosedived straight for my heart.

Now where would I be if I didn’t read and know the Word of God?

I’ll tell you, drowning like a rat in a bucket filled with the poison of I can’t. But because I know His promises, I can recall them in times of trouble. I can face my fear. I can be strong. I can believe for things hoped for and not yet seen. I can have the joy of the Lord.

“I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.” ~ Phil. 4:13

And

“No weapon forged against me will prosper.” ~Isaiah 54:17

Henry Ford put it this way, “Whether you think you can, or you think you can’t––you’re right.”

Words are life. Or words are death.

What Words will build the foundation of your 2016?

I can. I can. I can,

Donna Yarborough

American Christian Fiction Writers 2015

American Christian Fiction Writers 2015

 

About Michelle Lim

Author Michelle Lim is the Brainstorming/Huddle Coach with My Book Therapy Press and the Midwest Zone Director for American Christian Fiction Writers. Michelle’s romantic suspense is represented by Karen Solem of Spencillhill Associates and has gained contest recognition in the Frasier, the Genesis, and the Phoenix Rattler, winning the Genesis in 2015 for her genre. Michelle writes devotionals for The Christian Pulse Online Magazine and Putting On The New. Since her nonfiction book release, Idea Sparking: How To Brainstorm Conflict In Your Novel, through public speaking and online chats Michelle helps writers discover the revolutionary power of brainstorming to bring new life to their stories.

One thought on “Two Little Words – Faith Thoughts with Author Donna Yarborough

  1. andreamichellenell says:

    Needed to hear this. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

