Not Another Self-Help List! Heartwarming Thursday

by Jill Kemerer

It must be January! The New Year, New You theme is everywhere I look.

30 Days to be a Better Wife

8 Ways to Fill Your Home with Positive Energy

19 Fun Things to do Alone

My Pinterest feed is FULL of pins like this, articles telling us how our lives can be better and giving us a checklist to make sure we follow through. I usually love self-help articles, books and checklists. Who doesn’t want to be a better version of themselves? But today when I was scrolling through pin after pin of ways to improve every aspect of my life, all I could do was roll my eyes and pretend to gag.

I just couldn’t take another self-help list.

 

Not Another Self-Help List

Photo courtesy of Pixabay

 

Here’s the thing, I’m in the trenches of “improvement” as we speak. No, I don’t have grand resolutions. I’ve failed too many times at those in the past. I’m brutally honest with myself. Twenty-four hours is about all the willpower I have. Each day I try to meet my “let’s get healthy” goals. What are they? (Don’t laugh!!)

  1. Drink 96 ounces of water a day. (I work from home where the bathroom is handy or this wouldn’t be possible!)
  2. Count my calorie intake using MyFitnessPal, an app on my phone. (Some people hate counting calories. I get it, but for me, it works!)
  3. Exercise for 20-30 minutes 5-6 days a week.

I have a secret weapon for meeting these goals. Prayer. Yep, good old-fashioned prayer. I ask God to give me the strength and motivation to improve my health each day.

Psalm 34:8 (NIV) “Taste and see that the Lord is good; blessed is the one who takes refuge in him.”

Does this mean I always meet my health goals? No, but since they’re not too over the top, I usually do. On the days I don’t, I refuse to berate myself. My life runs better when I do what’s good for me, and that’s usually motivation enough for me to get back on track.

Honestly, the above list is all I can handle right now. So I’ll have to wait to take the steps to improve my home’s positive energy, and I’ll take a rain check on thirty ways to be a better wife. But the fun things to do alone? I might check that one out!

Instead of feeling pressured to DO THIS! TRY HARDER! BE BETTER!, I hope you’ll smile, close your eyes and rest assured you’re more than enough right now. Pray daily for help to meet your goals. And hang in there! You’re not alone!

Are you in the beginning of a health kick or other self-improvement plan? How is it going for you?

Have a terrific day!

About JillKemerer

I write inspirational romance novels for Harlequin Love Inspired.

2 thoughts on “Not Another Self-Help List! Heartwarming Thursday

  1. I tried the 96 ounces of water…did you know you can overdose on water? lol. 96 oz are too much for me, but I do try to drink 8-10 glasses of liquid a day. Great post!

  2. JillKemerer says:

    Pat, I DID know that! Thankfully, I’m in no danger! Haha! I’ve been drinking that much for over a year, and it’s improved my energy levels and my skin. 🙂 8-10 glasses is great! Go you!!

Leave a Reply

