How To Create A Timeless Novel – Tips From Peanuts Through The Years

Photo by bayek

Photo by bayek

I absolutely love Peanuts! I’ve been looking forward to it coming to theatres to take my kids. The big weekend it here!

Peanuts became a holiday tradition in my house as a child. We watched the Thanksgiving, Christmas, and Easter specials on TV. I still watch those with my children.

What makes the Peanuts crew so timeless?

Let’s take a peak at some changes in their format that gets a lot of buzz simply because people struggle with change.

How To Create A Timeless Novel:

*Timeless Relatability. Charlie Brown continually appeals to us because of the universal struggle he faces to fit in. He feels like a failure, but he doesn’t give up. That is a timeless quality.

*Enduring Themes. Themes like family holidays, self-esteem, friendship, adventure, and bullying are present in the Peanuts of older times and today.

*Lovable Characters.  At the core of every novel is the hero/heroine’s journey. When characters draw out our emotions we find ourselves captured by the story. If we can relate to their pain, joy, and journey there is a greater potential for us to want to hang on to them past battle.

*Necessary Changes. Peanuts aired in the 1950’s. Although people hate change and complain when a format is changed, it is necessary to change enough that the next generation doesn’t write off the story as obsolete. With the new Peanuts movie there is buzz about the new format, but they recognize the need to change enough to stay current without changing the very heart of the show.

Before I ask a question, today is the final day of our Rafflecopter Give Away for the $50 Amazon Gift Card and an hour brainstorming session. Don’t miss your opportunity to enter. If you have entered before, there are several blog stops I’ve made this past few weeks that have the opportunity to comment or tweet out. You can enter more than once.

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/21435c401/?

Do you love the old or new Peanuts? What do you like most about it?

About Michelle Lim

Author Michelle Lim is the Brainstorming/Huddle Coach with My Book Therapy Press and the Midwest Zone Director for American Christian Fiction Writers. Michelle’s romantic suspense is represented by Karen Solem of Spencillhill Associates and has gained contest recognition in the Frasier, the Genesis, and the Phoenix Rattler, winning the Genesis in 2015 for her genre. Michelle writes devotionals for The Christian Pulse Online Magazine and Putting On The New. Since her nonfiction book release, Idea Sparking: How To Brainstorm Conflict In Your Novel, through public speaking and online chats Michelle helps writers discover the revolutionary power of brainstorming to bring new life to their stories.

2 thoughts on “How To Create A Timeless Novel – Tips From Peanuts Through The Years

  1. bonnie navarro says:

    I haven’t paid as much attention to the new ones. When I was a small kid, I didn’t carry around my baby doll like most little girls. I carried around my Snoopy. (Sorry Snoopy – I carried him by the ear and my mother had to keep sewing it back on.) He was with me when I gave my heart to the Lord at the tender age of four and again when we moved to a new home.
    What I liked most about Snoopy was what I learned about his author, Charles M Schulz. He was a Christian and wrote many comic like books, more than just Snoopy – most of his other works are very heavy in Christian content – Misprints in the bulletins was one section of one I read.
    It’s not accident that Charlie Brown reminds us of ourselves. That was Mr. Schulz’s intent. Charlie Brown is common man. (Who might Snoopy be? the friend who sticks with him, encourages him and takes out the Red Barron?)

  2. Michelle Lim says:

    Thanks for sharing with us, Bonnie!

Leave a Reply

