Out of My Comfort Zone with Author Donna Yarborough

Photo by Ryan Ellis

Photo by Ryan Ellis

The countdown had begun.

Sixty seconds . . . fifty-nine . . .

Numbers flashed on large screens flanking the back of a darkened stage. Canned music pulsed through the sanctuary as musicians donned their instruments and took their places. The worship band had prayed. They were ready. Hadn’t I taught them as much?

Ten . . . nine . . .

Of course, I had prayed and I’m always ready. After all, I’ve led worship around the country for years. Why, I’m as comfortable behind the mic singing as I am breathing.

Six . . . five . . .

Worshipers rushed into the sanctuary with hot java in hand, smiles on their faces. Yep, another Sunday morning at Life Point Church like any other. God would be praised, lives transformed. What a glorious day.

Four . . . three . . .

My high-heeled pump confidently took the stage.

Two . . . One . . .

The video and audio blipped off.

My knee buckled. I pulled in a sharp breath, grappled thick air for balance.

Lights up.

As blinding lights hit the stage––my face kissed the floor.

Women gasped. Men groaned. My skirt waved a greeting, and my derrière welcomed the congregation into the presence of what? Jesus?

With terror-filled eyes, the worship leader beside me offered his hand. I scrambled to my feet and hissed at him, “Start the band. Take the lead. Sing––Now!” Mortified, I kept my back presented to the crowd. I smoothed my clothes, my hair. Pain throbbed and heat flushed my face.

Hmm. Not so comfortable anymore. Well, I couldn’t just stand there. I rounded on the mic stand in time for my lips to sing, “I lay me down, I’m not my own. I belong to You alone. Lay me down, lay me down. Oh, oh, oh . .

“Really, right now? Of all the songs, Lord.” I said out loud. In the microphone. And behold, the tension smothering the room lost its grip. We all had a good laugh.

Then the miraculous happened. Folks laid down pride, worry, fear, unforgiveness, failures, wrong ambitions, shame, and doubt. Even our comfort zones were left abandoned that day.

So, when you find yourself flat on your face, don’t struggle in your own strength or hiss at the only One who can help you up. Take His offered hand. Trust Him to lead. And sing.

Because He’s worthy . . . because you can.

The Lord upholds all those who fall and lifts up all who are bowed down.

Psalm 145:14 NIV

Out of my comfort zone,

Donna Yarborough

About Michelle Lim

Author Michelle Lim is the Brainstorming/Huddle Coach with My Book Therapy Press and the Midwest Zone Director for American Christian Fiction Writers. Michelle’s romantic suspense is represented by Karen Solem of Spencillhill Associates and has gained contest recognition in the Frasier, the Genesis, and the Phoenix Rattler, winning the Genesis in 2015 for her genre. Michelle writes devotionals for The Christian Pulse Online Magazine and Putting On The New. Since her nonfiction book release, Idea Sparking: How To Brainstorm Conflict In Your Novel, through public speaking and online chats Michelle helps writers discover the revolutionary power of brainstorming to bring new life to their stories.

5 thoughts on “Out of My Comfort Zone with Author Donna Yarborough

  1. Oh, Donna. I loved this post! And when I saw the song you led with? Yah, that had me laughing out loud. 🙂 Beautiful message here, my friend. Even in the most humbling, uncomfortable circumstances, our Jesus is in control and worthy of worship.

    • Donna Yarborough says:

      Thank you, Jeanne. It is funny now. But quite humbling at the time. I’ve learned the Lord isn’t as impressed with our comfort as our humbled obedience. And it’s okay. Because He always makes good out of anything we give Him. He’s that awesome!

  2. Jennifer Hargis says:

    Oh my! I only laughed hysterically because I know you! It doesn’t surprise me that you recovered with dignity. I wasn’t there when this happened. I would handed laughed probably. Love you sweet lady!!

  3. Hi Donna, thanks for sharing this post. I appreciate your honesty and the lesson the Lord showed you. : )

  4. Donna Yarborough says:

    Thanks all! It is funny now. And I’m forever humbled and grateful He turns our stumbles into something good and encouraging! 🙂

Leave a Reply

