All About Love – Sweatpants and Saturdays

by Jill Kemerer

This is not a post about champagne and roses. No, it’s about sweatpants and Saturdays. Last weekend I opted not to attend our daughter’s cross country race. I’d spent three weeks in a row cheering her on at meets over an hour away, and Saturday was dreary, rainy and freezing. Did I feel guilty? Yes. Did I feel guilty enough to layer it up and drive forty-five minutes to stand in the rain? No, I did not.

rainy day race

I’m all too familiar with rainy day races. This was from earlier in the season. My daughter is in this blur somewhere…

My son was hanging out with a friend, so my husband and I had the day to ourselves. I woke to the amazing aroma of freshly brewed coffee (I love my husband!). Then I changed from pajamas into my fave University of Michigan tee and sweatpants–basically another pair of pajamas. I had no agenda! None! It felt so good. It’s been a crazy busy fall,so having an entire day off was like a dream come true.

We watched ESPN’s College Gameday, ate some leftover pizza for lunch, and got cozy in our living room to watch Michigan play Maryland. I baked a cake just to eat it and read a magazine from my towering stack. My soul breathed.

The run-run, get-another-thing-done tempo of my life doesn’t suit me. I need lazy days more often. We all do!

The best part of the day? The wonder of being slow, chatting with my husband about everything and nothing for hours. For me, talking to my husband and watching football for an entire Saturday is a relationship builder. I feel closer to him, and I’d love to enjoy a repeat this Saturday. 🙂

There’s something to be said about lazy days.

How do you spend a lazy Saturday? 

Have a great day!

About JillKemerer

I write inspirational romance novels for Harlequin Love Inspired.

3 thoughts on “All About Love – Sweatpants and Saturdays

  1. Michelle Lim says:

    I totally love lazy Saturdays! This time of year we spend it watching movies, playing games, going to the park…although that technically is not at home.

  2. JillKemerer says:

    I’ve been wanting to rent some movies lately, Michelle! I might have to stop by Family Video soon! Glad you’re enjoying the fall!

  3. I’d love to have a lazy Saturday to just read.

Leave a Reply

