How To Overcome Post Conference Panic – Tips From Chicken Little To The Terrified

photo by Jenny W.

Photo by Jenny W.

So you went to conference . You got a few requests. Now you are wondering what you were thinking in the first place. You’re asking yourself, “Can I really write?” I’ve been there.

From one Chicken to Another:

What can we learn from Chicken Little?

*Stick together. This is not an every Chicken for himself story. We need each other. When panic threatens to overwhelm you, lean on a buddy.

*Get a plan and execute. State your purpose and go about it with everything you have inside of you. If you spend all of your time panicking and no time working, you will never achieve your dreams.

*Don’t let distractions get the best of you. In your run for the prize, don’t look to the left or the right. Distractions often push us away from our dreams.

*You don’t have to be big to be important. Your impact in the writing world is not all about your words on paper, but how you connected in he industry.

*Greatness is thrust upon us. God is really in charge of our journey. We are to be obedient to do the work to the best of our ability and he will take care of the rest.

Are you feeling overwhelmed with your own inadequacies? Why or Why not?

About Michelle Lim

Author Michelle Lim is the Brainstorming/Huddle Coach with My Book Therapy Press and the Midwest Zone Director for American Christian Fiction Writers. Michelle’s romantic suspense is represented by Karen Solem of Spencillhill Associates and has gained contest recognition in the Frasier, the Genesis, and the Phoenix Rattler, winning the Genesis in 2015 for her genre. Michelle writes devotionals for The Christian Pulse Online Magazine and Putting On The New. Since her nonfiction book release, Idea Sparking: How To Brainstorm Conflict In Your Novel, through public speaking and online chats Michelle helps writers discover the revolutionary power of brainstorming to bring new life to their stories.

9 thoughts on “How To Overcome Post Conference Panic – Tips From Chicken Little To The Terrified

  1. Not really. Like you said, it’s not up to us. He is with us each step of the way.

  2. Loved this, Michelle! Let’s press on together! 🙂

  3. jeannemt says:

    Are you sure you weren’t in my head a day or two ago? I began to think I was crazy to think I could write. 🙂 Sure they liked my first chapter, but what about chapter 15? I’m getting over that sense of being overwhelmed. I finally got to sit down this morning and begin working on revisions again.

    BTW, it was so wonderful to see you last week! I have some pics to send your way. Just gotta find your address again. 🙂

    • Michelle Lim says:

      Oh, Jeanne. You can definitely write. Just give yourself time. This journey can be overwhelming sometimes.

      I’ll zip you an email so you can send the pictures. Can’t wait to see them!

  4. Melissa Tagg says:

    I’m commenting a little late, Michelle, but this is good stuff! I came home sooo dazzled by the wonderfulness of ACFW, but yes, soon panic about my to-do list threatened to kick in. You’ve got great tips for beating the panic and replacing it with practical action. Good stuff!

  5. Michelle Lim says:

    Thanks, Melissa! I understand the ‘To Do’ list. I’m currently trying to escape the black hole of my inbox…LOL!

  6. jackielayton says:

    You all made me feel better that I’m not alone in feeling overwhelmed.

    Plus I’m so behind. So much to do.

    Oh, yeah, God’s in control.

  7. Mindy says:

    Actually, ACFW did the opposite for me. I have a clear picture of what I need to learn and am working on a baby-step plan to follow through. Instead of telling myself to do it all NOW, I remind myself I have a year to implement what I learned before the next conference. Each day I set small goals for writing, learning the craft, and social media. Oh, and catching up on laundry, dishes, shopping….:)

Leave a Reply

