Mailbox Roses – Love Surprises

Colourful, harmony Valentine background, amazing style, handmade flower, I love you message on wooden, red color, Valentine day on Feb 14 is the day for couple, they give lovely gift for lover

There is nothing like being in love. Everything looks brighter, sounds brighter, is brighter . . . well, okay, maybe not spiders and public biffys. Still, for the most part, love adds a happy glow to life.

I remember when I fell in love with my husband. A few. . . ahem . . . years ago. My husband was here from Singapore, where he grew up, studying at the University. I met him in church.

You’d think I’d have figured it out right away that he was the love of my life, but no, I got to know him best while I dated someone else. We became the best of friends and when that other guy was out of picture . . . we didn’t fall in love.

Yes, I realize that maybe I was missing it along the way, but who said love doesn’t have twists and turns?

We hung out in a group of friends and eventually with just each other, but we were still only friends. Until he moved away. Long before this I began to realize I had feelings for him, but my husband was clueless to what this new feeling was in his heart until he was a few thousand miles away on a one year exchange program to another university.

Letter by letter we fell in love. Each time I came home from work, I would look in my mailbox, hoping I’d received a letter. More often than not, I did.

By Christmas when he came back to visit, we were a couple. When he finally moved back in the summer, the mailbox letters were replaced with long stem roses. The surprised delight as I opened the mail to find a reminder of love deepened my love for him.

To this day, I love to get mailbox roses and surprises. They remind me of love and the sweetness of romance.

What reminds you of love?

 

About Michelle Lim

Author Michelle Lim is the Brainstorming/Huddle Coach with My Book Therapy Press and the Midwest Zone Director for American Christian Fiction Writers. Michelle’s romantic suspense is represented by Karen Solem of Spencillhill Associates and has gained contest recognition in the Frasier, the Genesis, and the Phoenix Rattler, winning the Genesis in 2015 for her genre. Michelle writes devotionals for The Christian Pulse Online Magazine and Putting On The New. Since her nonfiction book release, Idea Sparking: How To Brainstorm Conflict In Your Novel, through public speaking and online chats Michelle helps writers discover the revolutionary power of brainstorming to bring new life to their stories.

4 thoughts on “Mailbox Roses – Love Surprises

  1. Zero candy bars. 🙂 I’ve been dating Bryan for 15 years now and on the 11th anniversary of when we started dating he hid 11 Zero candy bars in my house because I said I loved them.

  2. dtopliff says:

    Thanks for letting us look through that delightful window. May you enjoy many more roses.

Leave a Reply

