Music Mondays – No Backseat Driving My Life

Photo by andrewatla

Photo by andrewatla

Driving down the road with my kids who are not yet drivers is often surprising. When my way too cute eight-year old tells me how to drive, I have to smile. He seems to have all of the knowledge necessary to drive by the way he talks, but has spent no time behind the wheel.

It reminds me so much of how I try to backseat drive my way through my writing career. I have no expertise compared to God and yet here I am giving Him directions.

I make copious schedules, tell Him which Publishing House is mine, determine the desirable timeline for each step of the journey, and argue with Him when I feel He took a wrong turn.

I hate to admit it, but sometimes I backseat drive my life. This new song by Toby Mac helps me to keep perspective when I think I need to take the wheel.

Going into the American Christian Fiction Writers’ Conference I am playing this song often to keep perspective. Regardless of how many appointments are in my schedule, who I want to meet with, what I hope to learn, or the career path I have laid out for myself, I am better off with God driving the car.

Do you ever struggle with backseat driving?

What is the hardest thing for you to let God drive in your life?

 

About Michelle Lim

Author Michelle Lim is the Brainstorming/Huddle Coach with My Book Therapy Press and the Midwest Zone Director for American Christian Fiction Writers. Michelle’s romantic suspense is represented by Karen Solem of Spencillhill Associates and has gained contest recognition in the Frasier, the Genesis, and the Phoenix Rattler, winning the Genesis in 2015 for her genre. Michelle writes devotionals for The Christian Pulse Online Magazine and Putting On The New. Since her nonfiction book release, Idea Sparking: How To Brainstorm Conflict In Your Novel, through public speaking and online chats Michelle helps writers discover the revolutionary power of brainstorming to bring new life to their stories.

2 thoughts on “Music Mondays – No Backseat Driving My Life

  1. Mindy says:

    I’m attending ACFW for the first time ever! Am so excited. Looking forward to seeing you!

Leave a Reply

