All About Love – Is it too early for Christmas?

I have a confession to make.

I absolutely understand that it is officially September 3rd. I hear the Pumpkin Spice Lattes are making their comeback. I believe the temperatures in Nashville (my home) are about to drop from the 90s–into the upper 80s. And football season (one of my favorites) has not officially begun.

Here in the South, this season can best be called late summer.

…But I’m ready to start reading Christmas romances.

freeimages.com, photo by Jean Scheijen

freeimages.com, photo by Jean Scheijen

Okay, wait. Before you consign me to the evil ranks of the craft stores that already have tinsel exploding and lights adorning half of their aisles (you know who I’m talking about), hear me out.

There’s a good reason that I love reading Christmas romances before the leaves have even begun to fall. In fact, I can come up with three good reasons to read a sweet holiday story long before the holidays are actually upon us.

  1. Christmas stories are often the sweetest stories of the year. They center around the holidays, which are usually filled with family celebrations and wonderful traditions. They never fail to make me think about how much I love and appreciate my family and friends.
  2. Some of my very favorite novels and novellas are set at Christmastime. They range from classics like Little Women to modern angel stories by Debbie Macomber to recent novella anthologies like Barbour’s The 12 Brides of Christmas Collection. No matter what, they make me feel warm and fuzzy any time of the year. And the handful of Christmas stories that I’ve written (always in the spring or summer) have been some of my favorite to write too.
  3. My favorite part of a romance novel is the anticipation of the first kiss. When the hero leans in and brushes his hand down the heroine’s cheek, I always hold my breath. Is it finally here, the moment I’ve been waiting for? A merry Christmas romance does that and more! Every story builds the wonder and joy of the season. With every page my delight and anticipation of the season grows. And that just makes Christmas all the sweeter for me.

So what do you say? Is it too early to start reading Christmas romances? What’s your favorite Christmas novel?

10 thoughts on “All About Love – Is it too early for Christmas?

  1. Michelle Lim says:

    It is not too early! As teens my sister and I along with my mom used to put our shades on and drive down the road in the middle of the summer and sing Christmas carols in three part harmony. Silly, huh? But oh so fun. Bring on the Christmas!

  2. C.M. says:

    Last night I went online and pre-ordered myself a whole stack of Christmas romances, so I’m in the “it’s not too early” camp too. My favourite Christmas reading is a short story collection (Connie Willis’ “Miracle and Other Christmas Stories”).

    • Michelle Lim says:

      I’m with you, I absolutely love Christmas romances. Hallmark and I have a very close friendship around the holidays.

      • Liz Johnson says:

        Michelle, the Hallmark Channel and I are very close all year long–especially during the holidays! One of my favorites last year was The Nine Lives of Christmas with the cat and the fireman. Whoo! So good. 🙂

    • Liz Johnson says:

      C.M. I’ve begun looking for new Christmas romances for this year too! Let us know if you found any good ones. 🙂

  3. Funny you should mention Christmas stories…I have a Christmas story in a Christmas Anthology–A Heartwarming Christmas. 🙂 It’s available for preorder everywhere!

  4. Here’s the Amazon link: http://ow.ly/RM8J1
    Thanks, y’all!

Leave a Reply

