And They Lived Happily Ever After…

By Patricia Bradley

weddingSo, did you ever wonder what happened afterwards? You know, after the bloom wore off the roses, when Cinderella was up to her arms in soapsuds, and the Prince had lost his hair? Hopefully their love sustained them, and it truly was ‘til death do us part.

Like with Herbert and Zelmyra Fisher in New Bern, North Carolina.They took their wedding vows to heart and would’ve celebrated their 87th anniversary on May 13, 2011, had he not passed away in February. Herbert was 105. Zelmyra was 103.

Why do some couples stay together a lifetime while others do not? I think the key lies in something the Fishers said in an interview.

When asked what one thing transcended everything else, the Fishers replied: “We are both Christians and believe in God. Marriage is a commitment to the Lord. We pray with and for each other every day.”

Almost two and a half million couples are expected to marry this year in the United States. My prayer for them is to have that commitment. So many times more emphasis is placed on the wedding than on the marriage. A total of $72 billion is spent annually on weddings. I wish couples would remember the wedding is for a day, but the marriage should be for a lifetime. They will have many joys but will also have many arguments.

I love what Zelmyra said when asked how they handled differences of opinion. She said, “Remember marriage is not a contest – never keep a score. God has put the two of you together on the same team to win.”

When asked about the fondest memory of their 85 years, both talked about the same memory. Zelmyra: I cook dinner every day. One Valentine’s Day, Herbert left work early and surprised me – he cooked dinner for me! He is a very good cook!
Herbert: I said that I was going to cook dinner for her and she could relax – the look on her face and clean plate made my day!

I’m thinking there has to be a way to incorporate this couple in one of my books. Because isn’t that what our writing is about? Recycling those things in life that touch us.

One last thing. What words of advice would you give a newlywed?

 

 

About P. T. Bradley

Writer of Inspirational romantic suspense

4 thoughts on “And They Lived Happily Ever After…

  1. joaniebruce says:

    My husband and I have 36 years of marriage behind us, and the advice I give to newlyweds is threefold: 1)Always think more of your spouse than you do yourself. If you’re busy pleasing him/her, you forget about your own self. 2)Always be willing to compromise 3) NEVER, and I repeat NEVER, talk about divorce, even in jest! I love the post, P.T. Thanks! 🙂

  2. What awesome words of wisdom, Joanie. And congrats on 36 years.

  3. Neeks says:

    My advice would be to know each other well, and be willing to work together, always. A marriage is often conceived to be a jewelry box – it’s going to be full of love, and stability and promise.
    It is not. A marriage is empty until the two of you put love, stability, laughter, etc. into it. Only then does it hold promise. Great post, I enjoyed it!

  4. Excellent observations, Neeks! Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

