Anniversary Time! All About Love

Today is my wedding anniversary! Twenty-one years ago (please do not do the math on my age!), I married my best friend. We were high school sweethearts, although I’m not sure the word “sweetheart” describes either of us. In many ways we’re opposites.

Jill Kemerer

This picture was taken last year in Ann Arbor, Michigan.

He’s reserved. I love meeting new people. He’s not afraid to confront someone. I’m more of a peacemaker. He’s hilarious. I can’t tell a joke to save my life. Our marriage isn’t perfect–I know, shocker!–but what keeps us together through the tough times is our faith, our commitment to each other, and most of all God’s grace.

Yes, God is the main factor in our marriage. He’s the third cord in the rope of our life. Without prayer, Bible study and fellowship in church, I really don’t know if we’d be as committed to each other. We’ve had the typical trials and blessings of any marriage. We’ve gone to bed angry. Hey, sometimes we still do! But I can’t imagine going through each day without my husband. He’s a keeper!

So how are we celebrating? The last five years we’ve had a baseball game on our anniversary. This usually means a quickie meal of hot dogs. Last year’s game was cancelled due to weather, so we celebrated in style at Carraba’s restaurant. Yum! Tonight we’ll be grilling with my son’s baseball team.

It doesn’t matter what we do or where we eat. I’m just thrilled to have another year with my guy.

What is your dream anniversary date? I’m pretty sure it isn’t grilling hot dogs at a baseball game! Ha!!

Have a wonderful day!

About JillKemerer

I write inspirational romance novels for Harlequin Love Inspired.

4 thoughts on “Anniversary Time! All About Love

  1. Ann Arbor? My family lives in Brighton, Mi. I grew up in Farmington Hills. It sounds like we’re from the same area. Happy Anniversary! My hubby and I met in Dearborn when we worked for Ford Motor Company. And we are total opposites like you and yours. Ha. I can relate.

  2. joaniebruce says:

    Happy Anniversary, Jill! I hope you have many, many more! 🙂

  3. JillKemerer says:

    Michelle, we love Ann Arbor and Greenfield Village! We’re also huge UofM fans. We live in Ohio, but we get up there as much as possible!

Leave a Reply

