Drops In The Ocean: Music Monday

“I want you as you are, not as you ought to be.”

*swoon*

Isn’t that what we all want in romance, friendship, life? These are the opening lyrics for Hawk Nelson’s rousing song, “Drops In The Ocean,” but they’re not referring to romantic love between a man and a woman. No, this is how God loves us.

Pretty amazing. Hard to believe. Well, it’s hard for me to believe, anyway!

What do You mean You love me as I am, not as I ought to be? How can You love me when I’m curled up in a ball of anxiety instead of trusting that You’ll work it all out for my good?

I get frustrated and angry when people don’t act with integrity. I have expectations ridiculously high. And sometimes they’re embarrassingly low. But God loves us through it all–the ups, the downs, the highs, the lows.

My romance novels feature flawed characters. Often they don’t believe they’re worthy of love. That’s why writing inspirational/Christian romance means so much to me. My characters don’t only fall in love with each other, they reach a point where they fundamentally understand that God loves them best. Totally. Forever.

“Drops In the Ocean” models a perfect love, one that can only be from God. No wonder I love this song so much!

What song speaks to you lately?

Have a terrific day!

About JillKemerer

I write inspirational romance novels for Harlequin Love Inspired.

4 thoughts on “Drops In The Ocean: Music Monday

  1. Michelle Lim says:

    I love this song, too. It is just a great reminder that it is okay to be flawed because God’s grace is bigger than my flaws.

  2. joaniebruce says:

    I love “10000 Reasons” by Matt Redman! Soooo inspiring!

Leave a Reply

