All About Love with The Computer Partner

Patricia Bradley here, along with my computer writing partner, who doesn’t have a name. Maybe that’s something we’ll take care of here on this post.

My computer partner

My computer partner

Anyhoo, my partner and I were talking today, and it occurred to me that our blog readers might like to see what goes on behind the scenes.

Computer partner: Let’s talk romance.

Me: I’d rather not. I just finished writing a 75K romance for Harlequin Heartwarming, and right now, I don’t care if I never see another one.

Computer partner: Come on, it wasn’t that bad. You already had your hero…all you had to do was find a heroine and antagonist. ‘Cause we both know romances don’t usually have villains.

Me: Yeah, but at least with a romantic suspense, you have that suspense thread to fall back on when things get slow in the middle.

Computer partner (rolling its eyes–it does that a lot): There’s plenty of suspense in a romance. Will the hero get the girl? Will he be able to overcome his fear of commitment in time to win her heart? Will the heroine trust the hero, especially after he breaks her heart?

Me: Well, yeah, but at one point, I actually liked the antagonist better than the hero.

Computer partner: You’re joking, right? He was all wrong for her. Three weeks after she chooses him, and he’s outta there. He’s not husband material…yet. Maybe in our next book, though…

Me: Yeah, I know, but still…

Computer partner: No, you know as well as I do she made the right choice. He was a good antagonist though, even though it wasn’t a romantic suspense. Tell me something, what’s the difference in a villain and an antagonist, anyway?

Me: Do you know what time it is? It’s almost eleven. There’s not enough time tonight to get into that.

Computer partner: I bet our readers would like to know the answer to that one.

Me: Well, I am teaching about antagonists and villains in the May ACFW Course if any of them want to hop over there and sign up. It’s easy if you already belong to ACFW, just go to the ACFW home page and click on Get Connected. It’s right there. Computer partner, you can hop over there, too and sign up.

Computer partner: I don’t have to…unless you’re planning on using a different computer to write on. That’s what this is all about, isn’t it? You’re breaking up with me. After all I’ve done for you!

Me: It’s been a long day. I think I’ll shut you down. Good-night…

Okay. I really do think computer partner needs a name. Leave a comment with your suggestions, and I’ll draw a name and send the course on villains and antagonists to you at the end of May.

About P. T. Bradley

Writer of Inspirational romantic suspense

8 thoughts on “All About Love with The Computer Partner

  1. Michelle Lim says:

    Oh, I love naming my computer! I’ve had an Abby and now a Ducky. Well, you could pick your favorite sleuth, book or tv suspense characters. You could call it Remington, for Remington Steele.

  2. I like that Michelle!

  3. M. Weidenbenner says:

    Hi Pat – You crack me up. What about PLANDY – short for Android plotter. Sounds like a great class to take over at MBT’s too! Share the link with me so I can post it at Random’s FB page.

  4. But Michelle, it’s a Mac! 🙂 And the link is http://www.acfw.com/ then you click on Get Connected, but you have to be a member of ACFW.

  5. Kelly Anne Liberto says:

    I call mine Queenie…how about Percival?
    Sounds like one…

  6. What a fun post, Pat! I’m coming late to the game, but what about naming your computer Link? He’s your link to story world, and he obviously keeps you on your toes. 😉

  7. Jeanne, that is a great name. Thanks for coming–it’s never too late.

Leave a Reply

