Music Monday – Brother Let Me Be Your Shelter

Lately I’ve been listening to the new album Live From the Woods by needtobreathe. It’s the recording from a show performed at The Woods at Fontanel last September. And I was there!

What an amazing show it was.

If you’re not familiar with needtobreathe . . . well, you’re missing out. But instead of giving you their entire story, let’s suffice it to say that the band from South Carolina includes two brothers, Bear and Bo Rinehart. At the show last year, Bear, the older brother and lead singer, shared the story behind my favorite song on the album, “Brother.”

It seems that after years in the band together, multiple studio albums, and years of touring, these brothers found themselves at odds, competing instead of building each other up. Fighting instead of supporting each other. It all reached a head as they returned home for 6 weeks. Bear said that during that time, he and Bo didn’t speak. At all. You see, they’d let the band become more important than their relationship. But after six long weeks, Bear went to Bo prepared to tell him that he was willing to give up the band, but he wasn’t willing to give up his brother. Bo had written a similar speech for Bear.

Thankfully the band was salvaged. More importantly the brotherhood was. And Bo wrote a beautiful love song for his brother.

My favorite lyrics are:

Everybody needs someone beside ’em
Shining like a lighthouse from the sea

I think this applies to more than just brothers. We’re made for community and to build each other up. Proverbs 17:17 says, “A friend loves at all times, and a brother is born for adversity.”

I’ve been feeling this more keenly in my writing life of late. When the night winds of deadlines and rejections drive in, friends in my community have kept me on my feet and moving forward. I’m four-times blessed by the other women of this blog–Michelle, Jill, Jess, and Pat. When I’ve been overwhelmed with deadlines or fearful of new adventures, these women have come alongside me, praying for me, lifting me up, encouraging me.

I also try to get together with a local group of Nashville writers once a month or so. We don’t have organized meetings so much as eating brunch and talking about writing and the industry. Every Tuesday I meet another writer friend for dinner so that we can catch up and then spend an hour writing and cheering each other on.

These are just a few of the sisters who have become my shelter in the midst of the writing storm. I’m so grateful for them all.

What does your community (writing or otherwise) look like? Who is the lighthouse pointing you home?

6 thoughts on “Music Monday – Brother Let Me Be Your Shelter

  1. juliesaffringravatar says:

    Beautiful post, Liz. My writer “lighthouses” include three other writers I got to know while on a summer 2014 road trip from Minneapolis to Montana. I only knew one of the writers in the car when we left. Since returning from that trip, we continue to meet about every couple of weeks, just to encourage one another or help one another brainstorm plot or marketing ideas. Just yesterday, we celebrated together as one in our group, Stacy Monson, held a book launch for her first book release. It was an amazing time. So grateful for them. Another lighthouse is Michelle Lim. What an encouraged and great listener. She helped me so much yesterday with a book concept. She was a beacon for me in the way to take my book idea. Feeling very grateful today!

    • Liz Johnson says:

      Julie, it sounds like you have a wonderful writing community! I agree about Michelle. She’s amazing!

    • Michelle Lim says:

      Julie, what a sweet thing to say. I love chatting with you and getting encouragement for my new project was so helpful. Can’t wait to hang out with you at the retreat.

  2. Michelle Lim says:

    I have been so blessed by you, Liz! God has surrounded me with so many amazing writer friends that I hardly know how to thank Him. The ladies on this blog, Lisa Jordan, Rachel Hauck, Susan May Warren, Colleen Coble, Amy Lindberg, Kathleen Y’barbo, Alena Wendell, and so many others. Thank you Jesus for sweet sisters in Christ!

  3. It is such a blessing to blog with these four ladies! And I have other writer friends who lift me up in times of need.

Leave a Reply

