Beyond Me: Music Monday

by Jill Kemerer

One of my favorite songs right now is “Beyond Me” by Toby Mac. It sums up how I feel about life right now. I’ve been so pleasantly surprised this year. Saturday, my mom threw a launch party for my debut novel, Small-Town Bachelor, in my small hometown.

She’d called me out of the blue to say she wanted to throw a party for me. So we brainstormed and decided on an afternoon meet & greet. My aunts made sandwiches, my uncles helped set up, and my daughter helped sell my books. I had a wonderful time. I’m so blessed to have them!

A month before, I sent out press releases to several newspapers, and the paper that serves the area ran an interview of me. All of this wasn’t due to my writing or my book. It was part of something bigger. I can’t explain it, just that I had a gut feeling it was always about Him.

Several people I’d never met drove half an hour away to come to the event. I love that! Grinning, I shook my head, amazed at how God sets things up. As the song says:

“You gave me the stars, put them out of my reach. Call me to waters a little too deep. Oh, I’ve never been so aware of my need, you keep on making me see, it’s way beyond me.”

He’s reminded me over and over this year that He’s all powerful. He sets up situations for us. He puts people in our path. He sends a smile, a hug, a phone call right when we need it. I’m keeping my eyes and ears open–I love God’s surprises!

If writing feels beyond you–listen to this song! It’s not!

What is way beyond you right now? Give it to God and see what He does!

Have a wonderful day!

About JillKemerer

I write inspirational romance novels for Harlequin Love Inspired.

4 thoughts on “Beyond Me: Music Monday

  1. Congratulations, Jill!

    Yes, God is more than able. January 1 I had two books due, one in February the other in April for a total of 170,000 words. And I had maybe 50,000 and was stuck on that 50k. I knew it would take a miracle to finish both books on time. So I turned it over to God. The February date moved to March 15, the April deadline moved to May 1. 🙂 That didn’t change the word count, though. Do the word count–over a 100k in 150 days and that was just for the first draft of the books.

    But God is good. I finished the March book and sent it off. My editor loved it and suggested only minor changes. Now with 17 days left, I am within 15,000 words of finishing. And I’m hitting 3K a day. All because God is giving me the words.

    Give it to Him. You couldn’t have said it better!!

    • JillKemerer says:

      Oh, Patricia!! I’m so glad you shared this!! Isn’t it amazing that you were able to finish the March book AND your editor loves it?? I’ve been praying for the Lord to help me with revising. He always comes through! Congratulations!!

  2. Michelle Lim says:

    I absolutely love Toby Mac! Thanks for sharing the encouragement today, Jill.

Leave a Reply

