Music Mondays: The Spiritual Thread

Morning everyone!

I hope you all had a fabulous Easter weekend celebrating our Lord and Savior. He is indeed Risen! I thought I’d share that I have a new novella out and FREE (until April 23rd) for newletter subscribers! It’s the 2nd (but can be read as a stand alone) in my Seasons of Hope Series. Just the Way You Are is set in spring and ends on Easter Sunday. I’d love for you to get Patched In and enjoy Gabe and Audrey’s story.

Speaking of stories and Jesus, let’s talk about the spiritual theme or the faith element. As a Christian writer, we’re required to have that thread/theme/element. When I’m thinking about my characters and unearthing their backstory, I have to discover where they are in their relationship with Jesus–if they even have one. If not, then I have to decide how they’re going to open their eyes to faith in Christ. How is Jesus going to woo them? How will He bring them to a place of surrender? It won’t always be an easy journey…it never is.

Once I have an idea, I like to find a few songs that speak to their spiritual arc. It helps me stay focused on their development and not stray. Since I’m on the subject of Gabe and Audrey, I’ll share Audrey’s spiritual arc. She’s a Christian but she wrestles with her past because she’s lost on out on so many things (in her mind) because of that shame. She can’t quite get over it. To top it off, she also struggles with comparison. Do you ever struggle with this? I do. So here’s the song I felt spoke to Audrey’s journey to understanding that God loves her just the way she is.

Isn’t that a wonderful song? “Be my God, so I can just be me. I’m tired of being someone I was never meant to be.”

What song is singing into your life right now?

Just the Way You Are by Jessica R. Patch

When Pastor Gabe asks Audrey Gilbraith to use her mad florist skills to help him design a prayer garden, she’s all in, especially since it helps take her mind off the fact she’s about to lose her job and her apartment. But working closely with Gabe and not falling for him is complicated. She’s not pastor’s wife material, and she has the past to prove it.

Gabriel Brookson wants out of Audrey’s friend-zone, but when he pursues her romantically, he ruffles more than a few feathers in his congregation. How much is he willing to give up for this wonderful, quirky woman, and will Audrey accept him if he risks it all?

Subscribe to the Patched In by clicking HERE! Don’t worry you’ll never be spammed and I never give out your email address.

photocredit/freedigitalphotos(dot)com

2 thoughts on “Music Mondays: The Spiritual Thread

  1. JillKemerer says:

    That’s a beautiful song, Jessica! Congrats on another terrific novella! 🙂

  2. That is such a beautiful song! And I’m so proud of you. And you are so right–we have to know where our characters are spiritually. Once we know that, we know what problems they are facing.

Leave a Reply

