Music Mondays Checking My Swag

Photo by badpoint

Photo by badpoint

As a mom of four amazing kids, I often find myself in the midst of a diverse pallet of musical preference. Rap, check. Classical, check. Hip Hop, check. Praise and worship, check. Country, check. Pop, check. Jazz, check. And that is just the beginning.

This is where my life and writing world collide. Musical variety gets me into the mood to write different characters.

I often ask myself, “What is my character’s favorite type of music?”

Music tells us so much about the word choices a character might use, or what types of words move them. Before I starting writing in a certain character’s Point of View I listen to one of their favorite songs.

Okay, so I just made my character a living, breathing being. We do that all of the time anyway, right?

Here are a few characters that I am writing off my life’s experience right now.

Tweenage Boy:

This character loves sports, music, Shawn White and reading Shakespere. A contradiction of the unexpected.

Middle Aged Man with Brilliant Math Skills:

This character gets lost in thought about things so abstract some of us will never understand. He likes to escape into his world of knowledge, coming out to embrace the rest of the world on occasion.

An elementary aged girl with a love of art, friends, life, and her Jesus:

This character loves her friends and is fiercely loyal. A sweet spirit with a bit of sass.

Worship Moments:

Sometimes I listen to this before I write a scene that has a voice of truth moment for my character. What words would reach their heart? How would I get their heart in the right place to receive it?

Acapella brilliance with the Isaacs. Love the key changes!

Jamaican Praise Medley

Michael W. Smith

 

Elementary age boy genius with glasses and inventing skills:

Everything fast and loud is good for this character. He lives outside the box and moves to his own beat.

Elementary age boy with a crazy amazing sense of beat and brilliant sense of humor:

Dimpled grins, unexpected jokes, and an amazing intuitiveness that gives hugs at just the right moment.

Harried mom who loves everything from classical to Hip Hop, but at the end of a long day when everyone is in bed, she enjoys chilling to the soft sounds of jazz.

Hope you enjoyed getting to know my life a bit and how I incorporate that into my writing. I’d love to hear from you and what music prompts in your writing.

What’s your swag? What’s the music of your life and characters?

 

About Michelle Lim

Author Michelle Lim is the Brainstorming/Huddle Coach with My Book Therapy Press and the Midwest Zone Director for American Christian Fiction Writers. Michelle’s romantic suspense is represented by Karen Solem of Spencillhill Associates and has gained contest recognition in the Frasier, the Genesis, and the Phoenix Rattler, winning the Genesis in 2015 for her genre. Michelle writes devotionals for The Christian Pulse Online Magazine and Putting On The New. Since her nonfiction book release, Idea Sparking: How To Brainstorm Conflict In Your Novel, through public speaking and online chats Michelle helps writers discover the revolutionary power of brainstorming to bring new life to their stories.

6 thoughts on “Music Mondays Checking My Swag

  1. dtopliff says:

    Great question I need to answer. I almost know the answer for several. Thanks for introducing some performers here I hadn’t heard of but enjoyed–especially the Isaacs.

    • Michelle Lim says:

      Glad you enjoyed them. It is fun keeping up with all my kids different music styles. I love music regardless of the type, although I have to admit, the whole 20th Century music with weird noises…NOT SO MUCH.

  2. dtopliff says:

    PS Are you aware of the Annie Moses Band? Friends introduced me–great stuff.

  3. Will be using some of this. I usually don’t think about the kind of music my characters would like and I need. Starting now! Thanks Michelle.

Leave a Reply

