All About Love: Engagement Pictures

by Jill Kemerer

I have a new Pinterest obsession–engagement photos! Every time I come across a picture of a couple announcing their engagement, I get a warm, fuzzy feeling. Their expressions are so full of love and hope. Plus, the photographers are beyond creative finding locations, poses and props. Most of all, I love that the photos send the message that marriage is important, because, to me, marriage IS important!

Inspired by Engagement Pictures

 

One of the fun duties as an author for Harlequin Love Inspired is to fill out an Art Fact Sheet, which is actually several online forms. This helps the artist create a cover that not only represents the Love Inspired brand, but also reflects a scene in the book.

I’m a visual person. Ever since I filled out my first Art Fact Sheet, I’ve been pinning engagement photos on my Romance Pinterest board. When I’m plotting a new story, I look through my Romance Pinterest board and note any pins that might work for the book. When I write the scene, I study the picture for details I can add to make the scene come to life.

Follow Jill’s board Romance! on Pinterest.

Engagement pictures help me get in the right mood when writing a romance novel. All I have to do is peek at a picture and it reminds me that I’m sharing how two people are falling in love. What can I say? I’m convinced I have the greatest job in the world!


Do you swoon at engagement pictures? What is guaranteed to make you smile?

(I also have a Cuteness Pinterest board that does the trick!)

Jill Kemerer writes contemporary romance novels with love, humor and faith. A full time writer and homemaker, she relies on coffee and chocolate to keep up with her kids’ busy schedules. Her debut novel, Small-Town Bachelor, releases in April 2015, and her second novel, Unexpected Family, releases in September 2015 through Harlequin Love Inspired.

Besides spoiling her mini-dachshund, Jill adores magazines, M&MS, fluffy animals and long nature walks. She resides in Ohio with her husband and two children.  Jill loves connecting with readers, so please visit her website, www.jillkemerer.com. (Pardon my website dust–I’m cleaning my online home. It will be available again early next week!)

About JillKemerer

I write inspirational romance novels for Harlequin Love Inspired.

8 thoughts on “All About Love: Engagement Pictures

  1. Great idea about the photos triggering all the reasons people fall in love. Off now to your Pinterest board!

    • JillKemerer says:

      I’m glad I kind of fell into it, Patricia! I noticed cute engagement photos on Pinterest, and of course I got all “awww.” So I pinned a few. It didn’t hit me until I was doing the AFS what a great tool they could be for my writing. Love it when it works out like that!

  2. I swoon AT them and I swoon when I get to take them 😀 I’m a Wedding/Engagement photographer in addition to being a writer and I just love capturing that “perfect” moment of a couple in love. The same goes for writing!

  3. Michelle Lim says:

    I absolutely love weddings and wedding pictures. It gives you that “Awwww” moment.

  4. Liz Johnson says:

    What a great idea! I’m totally going to steal it. (You know, follow your pinterest board and then pin them to my board.) That will definitely help stir up the romance in my writing. Engagement photos make me smile so hard! 🙂 I love seeing people in love. Thanks for sharing, Jill!

Leave a Reply

