Music Mondays: Creating An Atmosphere of Faith

Good morning and welcome to Monday! Yep, I’m a morning person (please don’t hold that against me). Sometimes, sitting down to write is tough—for many different reasons. If you write from home, you have a million chores hollering at you. If you work outside the home all day, you’re exhausted when you get home and chores are screaming at you. Sometimes, nerves get the best of you. Maybe you just came off of a rejection or a tough critique. Getting back to the keyboard can feel overwhelming.

Music comes in handy for me when it comes to writing. Not only to do I love to write to music, but before beginning, I sit in my chair in front of the screen. I pull up my WIP and I pray these two scriptures (or if another comes to mind I add that):

“I will instruct you and teach you in the way you should go; I will guide you with My eye.” Psalm 32:8 NKJV

and

“And let the beauty of the Lord our God be upon us,
And establish the work of our hands for us;
Yes, establish the work of our hands”. Psalm 90:17 NKJV

Then I create an atmosphere of faith with some worship. Just like I need to set the mood for a particular scene whether it’s suspenseful, dramatic, or romantic, I also need to set the mood in my heart and mind. I need to remind myself WHO I write for. No matter how rejected, disappointed or even how wonderful I feel, I need a spiritual atmosphere conducive to writing.

Here are a few songs I’ve listened to lately that have created an atmosphere of faith and boosted my confidence—not in myself but in God and what He can do through me.

What do you do to create an atmosphere of faith? What are some songs that feed your soul? Share in the comments.

photocredit: freedigitalphotos/marcolm

7 thoughts on “Music Mondays: Creating An Atmosphere of Faith

  1. M. Weidenbenner says:

    What a great idea! I love the psalms you shared and the music!

  2. Love this post! I have hymns and Christian songs on my Pandora list and that’s what I listen to. Right now I’m listening to Be Thou My Vision.

  3. Loree Huebner says:

    My first time here. Nice blog, ladies!

    Excellent post. I always go back to The Casting Crowns song – Voice of Truth. That song took me through some rough seas several years back. I draw inspiration from it. The words speak to me.

    “But the stone was just the right size
    To put the giant on the ground
    And the waves they don’t seem so high
    From on top of them looking down
    I will soar with the wings of eagles
    When I stop and listen to the sound of Jesus
    Singing over me”

    • jessicarpatch says:

      I LOVE this song and Casting Crowns. So glad you came by Loree! It’s a lot of fun over here. 🙂 Hope you come back.

  4. Liz Johnson says:

    I love that song by Plumb! That’s a great point to prepare our hearts for writing before we dive in. Thanks for sharing those Psalms too. Just about anything by Downhere really feeds my soul. I love their songs Let Me Rediscover You and At the Altar of Love. Great post, Jessica!

Leave a Reply

