Wednesday Super Sleuth Challenge – Legal Or Not, Election Crimes

Photo by ProLife

Photo by ProLife

Hi Super Sleuths! We are starting a new month for the super sleuth challenge. Our Prizes for this month are a $10 Amazon Gift Card and a copy of …

Start reading A Promise to Protect (Logan Point Book #2)

“Acting Sheriff Ben Logan hasn’t heard from Leigh Somerall in a very long time, but it doesn’t mean he can get her–or their whirlwind romance of ten years ago–out of his head. When she calls out of the blue, it is with a strange request to protect her brother, Tony. When Tony dies just days later, Ben is charged with a different task–protecting Leigh and her nine-year-old son, TJ, from the killers. But how can Ben keep an eye on Leigh if she’s doing everything in her power to avoid him? And could the secret that Leigh is keeping change Ben’s life forever?”

***

Hopefully many of you got out to vote yesterday! The elections got me thinking about election crimes. Of course we have heard of hanging chads and voter suppression in past years, but what about the individual voter? What constitutes a voter crime?

How well do we really know the election process? For today’s challenge you will be identifying what you think is an election crime punishable by ballot invalidation and possibly fines or jail time.

Which of the following is an election crime in the United States:

1. In some states it is illegal to post who you voted for on Facebook.

2. In some states it is illegal to share a photo of your ballot on social media.

3. In some states it is illegal to vote without showing a valid photo I.D.

4. In some states it is illegal to text out who you voted for on Twitter.

5. In some states it is illegal to ask poll workers who they voted for.

How is your election savvy? Which of the above actions is a crime?

 

About Michelle Lim

Author Michelle Lim is the Brainstorming/Huddle Coach with My Book Therapy Press and the Midwest Zone Director for American Christian Fiction Writers. Michelle’s romantic suspense is represented by Karen Solem of Spencillhill Associates and has gained contest recognition in the Frasier, the Genesis, and the Phoenix Rattler, winning the Genesis in 2015 for her genre. Michelle writes devotionals for The Christian Pulse Online Magazine and Putting On The New. Since her nonfiction book release, Idea Sparking: How To Brainstorm Conflict In Your Novel, through public speaking and online chats Michelle helps writers discover the revolutionary power of brainstorming to bring new life to their stories.

7 thoughts on “Wednesday Super Sleuth Challenge – Legal Or Not, Election Crimes

  1. Okay…since I know 3 is true since I live in a state where you have to show your ID…unless this is a trick question and the real question is can you vote in some states without showing your ID–In Mississippi you would never get to the voting machine. lol All that to say I believe all of them are true. But don’t enter me in the contest. I think I have a copy of A Promise to Protect around here somewhere. 🙂

    • Michelle Lim says:

      LOL, Pat you are too funny! If you win, I will give you a copy of a different new release in Romantic Suspense. I am so excited to read your new book. With Conference I haven’t read it yet. But it is on my list for this month!!

  2. dtopliffd says:

    I’m an election judge and I believe all of them are true.

    • Michelle Lim says:

      I’m so grateful that you are serving in that way, Delores! I have to admit, I’m a little crazy and love politics(not the crazy ads, but the other stuff). I pop popcorn and stay up to watch the election results come in.

  3. dianekratz says:

    I believe none of these are a crimes. No one can vote without an ID. So if I had to pick one it would be number 3.
    Diane

  4. joaniebruce says:

    I would say number 2. I know for a fact it’t illegal to post a picture of your ballot. 😉

Leave a Reply

