Wednesday Super Sleuth Challenge – Wedding Theft Saavy

Photo by Greenbay

Photo by Greenbay

My wedding day there was a snow storm. Several of the guests were stuck in rush hour snow as they tried to make their way across the cities on slick roads. I’ll never forget starting our ceremony late because part of the wedding party had not yet arrived.

Despite the weather and a few other glitches, it is still one of my favorite memories. The dress, the songs, my hubby in a tux, the cake, and the moment my Prince Charming became my spouse.

As a Pastor’s daughter, I saw all kinds of wedding snafus; everything thing from melted cake that made you lean to take a photo that looked even, to a flooded church basement that unfortunately held the church restrooms.

Since summer is a big time for weddings, I thought I’d pull out a Super Sleuth Challenge for you Wedding Theft Saavy Sleuths.

Nothing says forever like a sweetly frosted taste of wedding cake bliss.

The newly married couple cut the top couple’s cake to their 75 cupcake layered wedding cake. Intending to pass out the cupcakes to the wedding goers, the task was forgotten as they enjoyed the festivities of the day.

At the end of the reception and a friend helped them box up the cupcakes. Later when they went to retrieve them, they were gone.

What happened to the wedding cupcakes?

1.The catering crew thought they belonged to the catering materials and removed them at the end of the meal.

2. Two of the kids that attended the wedding smuggled them home in their car to nibble on later.

3. The best man took them home to his bachelor pad to share with buddies.

4. The friend took them to her boyfriend’s job to pass out as a treat.

Which number do you think is right? What kind of cake did you have at your wedding?

About Michelle Lim

Author Michelle Lim is the Brainstorming/Huddle Coach with My Book Therapy Press and the Midwest Zone Director for American Christian Fiction Writers. Michelle’s romantic suspense is represented by Karen Solem of Spencillhill Associates and has gained contest recognition in the Frasier, the Genesis, and the Phoenix Rattler, winning the Genesis in 2015 for her genre. Michelle writes devotionals for The Christian Pulse Online Magazine and Putting On The New. Since her nonfiction book release, Idea Sparking: How To Brainstorm Conflict In Your Novel, through public speaking and online chats Michelle helps writers discover the revolutionary power of brainstorming to bring new life to their stories.

15 thoughts on “Wednesday Super Sleuth Challenge – Wedding Theft Saavy

  1. dtopliff says:

    I think it’s #1 & hope they got a refund on that. I also love your marriage complication examples–book worthy. I’d forgotten what kind of cake I had until I came across a family photo that helped me remember our lovely 3-tiered white cake w/ orange filling. Such details are important to remember.

  2. JaniceG says:

    If numbers align with letters then I would say letter A or #1. I would think the catering crew was being efficient and may have thought the cupcakes were just part of the cake decoration since they were left behind. I would give them the benefit of the doubt and think that they wanted to leave the space clean as they found it. That could have even been noted in the contract that they would clear the space? It is easy to jump to wrong conclusions. Hope this conclusion is accurate!

    • Michelle Lim says:

      Thanks for giving it a shot. You are a very logical thinker, Janice. I always love that about your answers.

      • JaniceG says:

        Thanks, Michelle.
        My maid of honor created our wedding cake, and that made for an exciting delivery that she and I managed the day of the wedding. I was almost more nervous about getting the cake where it needed to go than I was about the actual wedding. It was a tiered cake, and I had never been in the cake delivery business before. Unforgetable delivery, and a truly beautiful and delicious cake made by my loving friend.

  3. Just for giggles, I’ll say #3. We had a very basic, very dry white cake for our wedding. (At least it was dry after a year in the freezer. Can’t remember even eating it at the wedding — there was too much going on!) Now, my step-daughter and her fiance are planning to have a cheesecake wedding cake. Can’t wait to try it!

  4. 1 sounds logical, but I like #4 because I can see a dedicated girlfriend trying to help her boyfriend get the big promotion so she can have her own wedding bliss! After all the way to a man’s heart i.e. a boss’s heart is the stomach! LOL

    • Michelle Lim says:

      Isn’t it always about the food? LOL. Tell my hubby we are going to a black tie affair, he groans. Tell him the food will be amazing and he immediately perks up, LOL.

  5. Michelle Lim says:

    Janice, what a sweet gift your friend gave you to cherish in your memories!

  6. What a sweet memory. I love snowy weddings! As far as the right answer? I pick #1, but in fiction any of these would work, wouldn’t they? As long as it’s a part of the story and not just randomly dropped in there, but we’re pros at making just about anything believable, aren’t we? Ha! #3 might be a part of a comedy. It reminds me of something in the Hangover moves, or Dumb and Dumber, or some “guy” bachelor movie/book.

  7. Gideon Grey says:

    I guess number two. I see the ring bearer and flower girl, seven and five respectively.
    It’s an adults only wedding. They’re there solely for the sake of tradition. Mom and dad are having fun…they are not. So big brother hatches a plan. Why have only one cupcake when there’s a whole box waiting for them? He tells little sister to have Mom take her potty. Dad’s talking to his buddies. No one notices the box disappear.
    Soon it’s time to leave, and of course Mom’s going to notice the box. She does. She also notices the frosted faces. Her own face blanches. She quickly ushers her children to the car, box and all. Mom and Dad analyze the incriminating evidence.
    “The frosting’s been licked on every cupcake.”
    “Where were they?” Mom demands.
    “They said they were playing fort under our table…”
    “Oh for goodness’ sake!”
    “We can’t give these back to them.”
    Mom sighs. “We’ll just have to take them with us. Dump the evidence somewhere else…”
    Dad laughs. “We’ll tell them one day.”
    Mom giggles. “Perhaps when they have kids of their own.”

    • Michelle Lim says:

      Love it, Gideon! I can tell you love to write. If I didn’t know any better, I’d say you’d met my kids too, LOL. Thanks for stopping by to try your hand at the Super Sleuth Challenge!

      • Gideon Grey says:

        My siblings and I allegedly might have been slightly mischievous in our day…I mean…I admit nothing!

Leave a Reply

