“Somebody Like You” – A Brilliant Masterpiece by Beth K. Vogt

824607c5e41015ab5013fbe67ea773d5Not so often I read a book that leaves my jaw dropping at the beautiful words and metaphor. In fact it happens so rarely I can count it only on two hands that is why today I wanted to share with you Somebody Like you by Beth K. Vogt.

Why is this book so amazing? 

*The Characters.

Both the hero and heroine in this story gripped me with their originality.

Haley is a bit of a tom-boy, which I love, who grew up with a passel of brothers. She is spunky and tough. She works at a shooting range as an instructor.

Stephen is the twin brother of Haley’s husband who died in Afghanistan. He is tender and knows how to cherish a woman in a way that his brother never did.

*The Premise.

The whole unexpected twist of falling in love with your deceased husband’s twin and how to handle regrets of the past while still living for the future make this story unlike any other I’ve ever read. Vogt takes a difficult concept and weaves it beautifully into the lives of two characters we love.

*The metaphors and words. Let me share a few examples with you of the words in this book that really struck me:

“She was a shaky bridge to the twelve years of silence, but he had to try.”

Patches of leftover snow dotted the faded brown grass, and she had no idea what, if anything, would bloom in the flower bed beneath the front bay window.”

Her words, rough as unsanded wood, scraped at the wound Stephen still didn’t know how to live with.”

*The tug-at-your-heart emotional moments.

Several times during this book, my heart ached and soared with the character as she struggled to come to grips with her life. All the while, her hero made me a champion for their love for each other.  Be ready to laugh, cry, and say, “Aww.”

Have you read Beth’s book? If so, what was your favorite part? 

(If not, here is the link to buy her book on Amazon: http://ow.ly/yOx4H )

About Michelle Lim

Author Michelle Lim is the Brainstorming/Huddle Coach with My Book Therapy Press and the Midwest Zone Director for American Christian Fiction Writers. Michelle’s romantic suspense is represented by Karen Solem of Spencillhill Associates and has gained contest recognition in the Frasier, the Genesis, and the Phoenix Rattler, winning the Genesis in 2015 for her genre. Michelle writes devotionals for The Christian Pulse Online Magazine and Putting On The New. Since her nonfiction book release, Idea Sparking: How To Brainstorm Conflict In Your Novel, through public speaking and online chats Michelle helps writers discover the revolutionary power of brainstorming to bring new life to their stories.

8 thoughts on ““Somebody Like You” – A Brilliant Masterpiece by Beth K. Vogt

  1. I not only have a hard copy, but the ebook as well. I think my favorite part is…gosh, there are so many to choose from. Maybe when Stephen kept showing up.

  2. dtopliff says:

    You did a great review, Michelle. My favorite part is their deepening relationship growing through much painful hard work into impressive emotional freedom and maturity.

    • Michelle Lim says:

      I loved the spiritual journey, too! There is just something about overcoming the guilt of past decisions and stepping forward into the future. (Thanks for the compliment!)

  3. Mindy says:

    She is on my list of one of the next authors I want to read, so thanks for the review. But, because of the pictures, I have this strange longing to read her book while perched in a tree fort…

  4. What a great review, Michelle! I had so many favorite parts. I’m not sure how to share mine without spoiling things. Let me just say I loved the unexpected twist of who stayed with our heroine when she was in the hospital. 🙂 Nuff said? 🙂

Leave a Reply

