3 Tips To Add Unexpected Twists To Your Story From “Frozen”

Photo by mzacha

Photo by mzacha

The other day I was driving through my neighborhood on my way home and saw something that caught my eye. A garage sale sign.

What mom doesn’t love a good garage sale, right?

But this wasn’t just any garage sale. Nope. I’m used to seeing signs for yard sales, multi-family sales, block sales, even an occasional rummage sale sign, but I have never seen this sign before.

It wasn’t like any other sign. The sign simply said, “Awesome Sale!”

Too funny, right? They must not have had any other designation for the sale. I was half tempted to go to the sale just to see what someone else called “awesome.” Yet, my self-preservation won out (trying to declutter).

What hit me more than anything is that the sign stood out because it was a unique spin on the usual. I will probably never forget that sign.

How about your novel? Is it a unique spin on the usual? Do you have unexpected twists?

3 Tips To Adding Unexpected Twists To Your Story From “Frozen”:

1. Do the opposite of expected. Check out the movie clip. Do you notice when the reindeer gives back the nose? That is the opposite of what is expected.

2. Add unique conflict. It is not everyday that a snowman falls apart. Notice that there are many unexpected elements to the conflict.

3. Set the stage for the unexpected with calm. Notice before the twist comes where they become friends, Olaf has happy music and there is a flower. The calm escalates the unexpected twists impact in this scene. They have music and a stage, but we can still pain that on the stage of our novels.

What is your favorite unexpected twist in a movie?

About Michelle Lim

Author Michelle Lim is the Brainstorming/Huddle Coach with My Book Therapy Press and the Midwest Zone Director for American Christian Fiction Writers. Michelle’s romantic suspense is represented by Karen Solem of Spencillhill Associates and has gained contest recognition in the Frasier, the Genesis, and the Phoenix Rattler, winning the Genesis in 2015 for her genre. Michelle writes devotionals for The Christian Pulse Online Magazine and Putting On The New. Since her nonfiction book release, Idea Sparking: How To Brainstorm Conflict In Your Novel, through public speaking and online chats Michelle helps writers discover the revolutionary power of brainstorming to bring new life to their stories.

8 thoughts on “3 Tips To Add Unexpected Twists To Your Story From “Frozen”

  1. Well, in Breaking Dawn there is an extreme unexpected twist but I think it’s because it wasn’t in the book so that probably doesn’t count. lol I can’t think of a movie but I read a book called the Dead Room and the ending shocked me because I wasn’t expecting everything to be orchestrated by a certain person. Great twist. Left my jaw hung.

  2. Great visual and blog today. Thanks!

  3. Gail Helgeson says:

    Hi Michelle. Thanks for this little lesson in twists. Helps more than you know. By the way, congrats on being a finalist in the Genesis. I really hope you win. You so much deserve it. Thanks for your help. Blessings. Oh…twists….Ummmm…..I was so surprised at what happens to the professor in the movie God’s Not Dead, I gasped out loud…really loud in the theatre! Also, Cynthia Ruchti had a surprise ending in her release…All My Belongings….SO GOOD!!!!

  4. Yes, BIG congratulations on finaling in the Genesis!!!! I think my favorite twist was in the Sixth Sense. So did not see that one coming. And I’ve just started Cynthia’s book. It is so good!

Leave a Reply

