Kleenex Party 2014 – I Woke Up On The Wrong Side Of An Ice Cream Craving

Photo by harrispe

Photo by harrispe

Thanks to all of you who joined us to celebrate with the Genesis Semi-Finalists at the Rejoice With Those Who Rejoice Party. The Winners of our Amazon Gift Cards are Shirley Olson and Laurie Tomlinson. Congratulations! 

Today for our Kleenex Party, we want to encourage those of you who maybe entered the Genesis Contest, or another contest and didn’t do as well as you hoped. Today we will pass the Kleenex box and words of encouragement. 

Not to mention a few sweet prizes: 

*$10 Cold Stone Creamery Gift Card – For That Ice Cream Craving

*A Pair of Bunny Slippers (A $30 Value)

*A 30 minute Brainstorming Session to Get Your Creative Mojo Flowing Again

Leave an encouraging comment below to be entered in the prize drawing.

~~~

Have you ever woke up on the wrong side of an ice cream craving?

When things you thought should go a certain way don’t? When you stuck your neck out there and felt like you were sucker punched? When baby spit up and a marker covered wall felt like the least of your worries?

Then you know exactly how I’ve felt from time to time. I’m weepy, grumpy and puffy-eyed beyond make-up.

Usually the therapy starts with caffeine and escalates to chocolate and pretty soon the ice cream tub and spoon are in my hands and I’m watching White Christmas.

Until sometime mid-spoon I realize if I keep this up, I will be able to train with Shamu at Disney World.

Next, comes the sigh that leads me back to the freezer to put back the ice cream and on to my Bible where the day should have started.

Why is it when I wake up on the wrong side of an ice cream craving, I look for answers in the things on earth? I am human, despite my kid’s occasional stare that assures me I’m from another planet.

But here is what I usually discover: When I Wake Up On The Wrong Side of An Ice Cream Craving, God is still God. He is still amazing. He still has a plan for me and my dreams.

I just need to quit working so hard to do it in my own power. I need to quit working so hard to plot all the steps of my life in what I think is the perfect sequence.

Why? Because God is still God. He still knows what is best for me. He still has a plan even for the days when I wake up on the wrong side of an ice cream craving.

Psalm 46:10

New International Version (NIV)

10 He says, “Be still, and know that I am God;  
I will be exalted among the nations, 
   I will be exalted in the earth.”
What truths has God whispered to you when you woke up on the wrong side of an Ice Cream Craving?
About Michelle Lim

Author Michelle Lim is the Brainstorming/Huddle Coach with My Book Therapy Press and the Midwest Zone Director for American Christian Fiction Writers. Michelle’s romantic suspense is represented by Karen Solem of Spencillhill Associates and has gained contest recognition in the Frasier, the Genesis, and the Phoenix Rattler, winning the Genesis in 2015 for her genre. Michelle writes devotionals for The Christian Pulse Online Magazine and Putting On The New. Since her nonfiction book release, Idea Sparking: How To Brainstorm Conflict In Your Novel, through public speaking and online chats Michelle helps writers discover the revolutionary power of brainstorming to bring new life to their stories.

14 thoughts on “Kleenex Party 2014 – I Woke Up On The Wrong Side Of An Ice Cream Craving

  1. dtopliff says:

    It’s good to have the balancing other side of sweet victory, and you’ve led us to great conclusions. Thanks.

    • Michelle Lim says:

      I’m glad you’re encouraged. There are so many times as writers we face our disappointments and often keep them quiet, but we are not alone on this journey.

  2. I’ve woke up many times on the wrong side of an ice cream craving.
    Thanks again for reminding us Who is in charge!

  3. Rachel Britz says:

    I needed this! Yesterday I had my Kleenex party, but today is new day! =)

    • Michelle Lim says:

      It is a new day with so much potential for God to do great things! He has such a beautiful plan for you and your story, Rachel! This is just one step closer to where he is leading you. Most importantly, you are never alone on this journey!

  4. Liz Johnson says:

    Fabulous blog post, Michelle! Thanks for the reminder. I’ve been on the wrong side of an ice cream craving most days of my life. But that’s just because I really love ice cream. 🙂

    But I’ve definitely had those set-back days. Those ones that feel like they’ll never get better. Especially in my writing career. I think that writing is especially personal, so when we don’t make it as far as we hoped, or don’t see the fruits of our efforts, it’s easy to take that as a personal rejection. My own favorite part of my writing journey is that my first novel with Love Inspired, my first novella with Barbour, and my first trade novel were ALL rejected by the publishers who eventually picked them up (along with many others that weren’t published). Sometimes it’s timing that leads to rejection. Sometimes it’s fit or market needs. But always God is at work, bringing about His best.

    But when the rejection feels most acute, I remember that while I may be rejected in this world, I will NEVER be rejected by God when I come to Him with a humble heart. And to me, that’s better than ice cream. (Really.)

    • Michelle Lim says:

      Liz, that is so true! Thank you for sharing that with us. A great story of encouragement and a reminder to never give up on the dreams God has given us. No matter what, WE ARE NEVER REJECTED BY GOD!! So beautiful!

  5. LeAnne says:

    Wonderful post, Michelle. God is the same yesterday, today and forever. That means that who he is and his purposes for my life aren’t any difference the day I get an acceptance letter than they were the day I got a rejection. He is still himself.

  6. Mindy says:

    Thanks for giving me two great posts to share with the PNW writers. We had a few winners on that list and a few that didn’t make the list. Great encouragement for both.

    I have one autographed non fiction book from you, Lord-willing, some day I’ll have fictions books autographed by you. Praying for the Lord’s will for all who are writing for His glory and honor and rejoicing with you!

  7. Hi Michelle. This is a wonderful post. I must admit, I am petrified of rejections. I know they are going to come. So thankful I know I am in the palm of His hand no matter what! I am truly enjoying my writing journey. So thankful for pals like you to travel it with. I love the verse…Ephesians 3:20..”now to him who by the power at work within us is able to accomplish abundantly far more than all we can ask or imagine..to Him be glory…” AMEN. I am so thrilled for you. Smiling for you right now! Blessings. Love Gail

Leave a Reply

