Music To Write To Mondays – Need Something To Listen To As You Write

Photo by dsidwell

Photo by dsidwell

This past week I’ve spent lots of time writing new scenes to weave into my story. Every time I sit down to write the need for mood sounds or music hits me. Here are a few music selections I wrote to this week:

Is your character in the country or on a walk?

Country bird and nature sounds with cello:

 

One of the scenes I wrote this week took place by a river. I used these relaxing sounds to help me get in the mood for the scene.

Water sounds and birds:

 

For a scene that took place under the August sun on a 100 degree day, this put me in the mood. This is classical piano and string piece, instrumental only:

 

A heroine on the run or afraid works great with this music:

 

Another dimension with eerie undertones:

 

What types of scenes have you written this week?

 

 

About Michelle Lim

Author Michelle Lim is the Brainstorming/Huddle Coach with My Book Therapy Press and the Midwest Zone Director for American Christian Fiction Writers. Michelle’s romantic suspense is represented by Karen Solem of Spencillhill Associates and has gained contest recognition in the Frasier, the Genesis, and the Phoenix Rattler, winning the Genesis in 2015 for her genre. Michelle writes devotionals for The Christian Pulse Online Magazine and Putting On The New. Since her nonfiction book release, Idea Sparking: How To Brainstorm Conflict In Your Novel, through public speaking and online chats Michelle helps writers discover the revolutionary power of brainstorming to bring new life to their stories.

4 thoughts on “Music To Write To Mondays – Need Something To Listen To As You Write

  1. I am writing a discovery scene. I love your music!! Great post.

  2. dtopliff says:

    I don’t write w/ music in background, unless my son is playing his, lately Cuban rhythm, which is usually a distraction, or sometimes instrumental. I more typically have TV news in background or nothing, but this is interesting and I may try. I’ve been finding absolute nuggets for my historical and my challenge is weaving them in “naturally” without them seeming like info. dumps.

Leave a Reply

