Revolutionize Your Characters With One Tip

Photo by normaldude

Photo by normaldude

There is just something about people that surround me in everyday life. They all have such diverse personalities and struggles.

Yet, when I start working to brainstorm a character it seems I need something new to infuse my character with a fresh breath of air.

First, I follow the character interview that Susan May Warren introduces in her book From the Inside Out: Discover, Create, and Publish the Novel in You! A lot of inspiration is found in these articles.

Now you may have your character lined up, but what about those deep inter relational issues? Our characters cannot all have the same issues, but we are writers not psychologists.

One Tip To Revolutionize Your Characters:

Find a new release in psychology resources that can give your characters a boost of reality. Sometimes you may choose to purchase the book, sometimes not. Either way you are able to infuse your characters with a dash 0f real life.

For example, I recently discovered this book: Attached. The New Science of Adult Attachment and How It Can Help You Find – And Keep – Love.

This book gave me some new ideas how to spark chemistry and create disagreements between the heroine and hero in my novels. The fun of creating a romance between two characters with different attachment styles has created a different dynamic on the page.

Another book I found recently helped me to create a certain type of villain to cast in my new novel. The book  The Sociopath Next Door gave me insight into another type of villain.

These resources don’t create my characters or their journeys. I do. But the ideas I find in these types of resources often deepen my understanding of people which helps me to cast more believable characters.

Every now and then revolutionize your characters with a new psychology resource. It will give your characters added dimensions and create uniqueness on the page.

What are some books you found helped you to revolutionize your characters?

About Michelle Lim

Author Michelle Lim is the Brainstorming/Huddle Coach with My Book Therapy Press and the Midwest Zone Director for American Christian Fiction Writers. Michelle’s romantic suspense is represented by Karen Solem of Spencillhill Associates and has gained contest recognition in the Frasier, the Genesis, and the Phoenix Rattler, winning the Genesis in 2015 for her genre. Michelle writes devotionals for The Christian Pulse Online Magazine and Putting On The New. Since her nonfiction book release, Idea Sparking: How To Brainstorm Conflict In Your Novel, through public speaking and online chats Michelle helps writers discover the revolutionary power of brainstorming to bring new life to their stories.

7 thoughts on “Revolutionize Your Characters With One Tip

  1. Great tip! Think I’ll check out your books, especially the sociopath one.

  2. jackielayton says:

    I’ll check these out, thanks for sharing.
    (I’ll admit The Sociopath Next Door kinda scares me. Ha!)

  3. What a great idea, Michelle. I have interesting people in my life. And then I have the stereotypical nosy neighbors literally. Hmmmm, maybe that should go into my story! 😉 Only I’ll make her not so stereotypical. I’ll also be looking for that book. Thanks for the suggestion.

  4. Thanks Michelle I ordered the book on relationships.

Leave a Reply

