Your Writing Dream Team – Of Savannah, Beaches, And No Snow

Inline image 1
My Book Therapy Staff Retreat – Savannah (Photo by Edie Melson)
As I look out my window to our first and hopefully only May snowfall, I miss Savannah. Of course, I’m happy to see my family again, but I really enjoyed my recent trip to Georgia to meet with the My Book Therapy team.

 

Planning for the next year at MBT was an adventure, but even more than that it was wonderful to be surrounded by a great writing support team. A dream team, so to speak.

We all need A Writing Dream Team on our journey to help us dream big and encourage us to overcome our obstacles. Without this team it is easy to grow complacent, give up, and even forget to reach for the stars.

Who is your writing dream team?

If you don’t know, it is time to figure it out. You need to recognize who they are and how they encourage you on your journey. Don’t forget to think of how you can encourage them.

People On Your Dream Team Might Be:

*A Mentor who has walked the journey much longer than you. This is someone you look up to and learn from on a regular basis. They challenge you to be your best and don’t just speak the words you love to hear, but the words you need to hear.

*A Mentor/Craft Partner who has a bit more experience on the writing journey than you, but is more accessible for more frequent conversations. This person might be your craft partner or someone at a local writer’s group that can give you journey insights. They are likely published or soon to be published.

*A Craft Partner you work with closely. This may be the same as the previous person, or they may be in addition to them. You work together on your stories for brainstorming, an occasional critique, and craft questions. You pray together and encourage one another along the journey. This relationship is a balance of give and take where both partners benefit greatly from each other.

*A Writing Community. A community of writers that you join to learn craft whether it is your local chapter of American Christian Fiction Writers, My Book Therapy, or others. You may even be a part of more than one group as I am, getting the benefits that each have to offer.

*A Newer Writer You Are Mentoring. In the writing community one of the most important things is giving back. There will always be those who help you on the journey as you help others. Never miss out on an opportunity to help those who are learning just like you.

Who is on your writing dream team?

About Michelle Lim

Author Michelle Lim is the Brainstorming/Huddle Coach with My Book Therapy Press and the Midwest Zone Director for American Christian Fiction Writers. Michelle’s romantic suspense is represented by Karen Solem of Spencillhill Associates and has gained contest recognition in the Frasier, the Genesis, and the Phoenix Rattler, winning the Genesis in 2015 for her genre. Michelle writes devotionals for The Christian Pulse Online Magazine and Putting On The New. Since her nonfiction book release, Idea Sparking: How To Brainstorm Conflict In Your Novel, through public speaking and online chats Michelle helps writers discover the revolutionary power of brainstorming to bring new life to their stories.

4 thoughts on “Your Writing Dream Team – Of Savannah, Beaches, And No Snow

  1. dtopliff says:

    A great post & glad you got to do that. We do need them, and need to be them to others. I’m thrilled with some MBT Ponderers I interact closely with but also realize I need to interact more w/ people close to home, and God is opening some doors. I’m thankful.

    • Michelle Lim says:

      That is wonderful, Delores! We do need local writing community as well. There is so much we can learn from each other. I am so glad to call you a fellow Nicey!

  2. I have several people who encourage me and have helped me on my writing journey. Susie and Rachel, you, Dee, a writer friend here in Corinth, the rest of the Ponderers, my Imaginethat critique partners…goodness, I think I could go on. But we all need someone!

Leave a Reply

