How To Manage Multiple Writing Projects At One Time

Photo by mzacha

Photo by mzacha

There are writers who just amaze me. They do multiple projects at a time, volunteer, and mentor as if it is the only thing they are doing.

The expertise in this blog comes from watching these experienced writers who juggle several projects at once with grace.

There are so many great writing mentors out there, but a few authors that have inspired this article are:

Susan May WarrenRachel HaukColleen CobleCynthia RuchtiBeth K. VogtJulie Klassen, Lisa Jordan, and Kathleen Y’Barbo Turner.

Combined, these amazing ladies have written more than 130 books in a variety of genres, both fiction and nonfiction. Little do they realize how much I’ve learned from them when they didn’t even know that I was looking.

How To Manage Multiple Projects At One Time:

*Keep Your Priorities Straight. Number one is always God. You will find your well of creativity dry out if you don’t keep God in first place. Family should also be at the top of the list. Time spent in these two areas will free you to chase your dream with joy.

*Schedule Your Project Time. To be able to work on a variety of things you must be able to compartmentalize your writing time, social media, book launches, and other commitments. So put it on the calendar!

Only work on one thing at a time and shelf the rest to deal with once the time you’ve dedicated to the current work is over.

*Learn to say “No.” It is simple to hand all of our time out to worthy projects, but we must guard our priorities and our call to write. Saying “No” to some things means that you can say “Yes” to others.

*Be Generous In Caring For Others. As we give to others we are refueled. Whether people interactions make you tired or energized, they do refuel our idea bank. In a community where we are generous with each other we find great encouragement.

*Going Dark. This tip is genius and yet doesn’t hurt others as long as used upon necessity. Going dark is to be reachable only in urgent situations in your writing community.

You might post a ‘be back in a week notice’ on your blog or tell your writing friends that you are not checking e-mail as regularly while on deadline. Stay off Facebook except required posts for platform and focus only on writing.

*Plan Ahead For Seasonal Chaos. Holidays, your child’s baseball season, or other times of chaos can interfere with deadlines. Plan ahead as necessary to allow for flexibility.

*Utilize Your Resources. Do not feel guilty about ordering take out or hiring housekeeping help if your budget allows. Think of ways you can save time in areas that are not going to negatively impact your priorities while giving you more writing time.

*Vacation. Vacation. Vacation. We all need to take a break. Find time for yourself and your family.

What other Tips Have You Learned?

 

About Michelle Lim

Author Michelle Lim is the Brainstorming/Huddle Coach with My Book Therapy Press and the Midwest Zone Director for American Christian Fiction Writers. Michelle’s romantic suspense is represented by Karen Solem of Spencillhill Associates and has gained contest recognition in the Frasier, the Genesis, and the Phoenix Rattler, winning the Genesis in 2015 for her genre. Michelle writes devotionals for The Christian Pulse Online Magazine and Putting On The New. Since her nonfiction book release, Idea Sparking: How To Brainstorm Conflict In Your Novel, through public speaking and online chats Michelle helps writers discover the revolutionary power of brainstorming to bring new life to their stories.

6 thoughts on “How To Manage Multiple Writing Projects At One Time

  1. Great tips, Michelle. One thing I’ve learned is: all the time in the world means nothing if I don’t discipline myself to sit down and write. Which for me is the hardest thing of all to do. 🙂

  2. Hi Michelle. So many people struggle with this–including me. Years ago I had an accountability partner. Every Friday I’d send her my goals for the following week and report whether I accomplished my goals for the current week. She did the same. We encouraged each other. Getting into the habit of “reporting” where my time was spent really helped me to SEE my pitfalls, my time-wasters. We did this for about a year and now it’s automatic. I submit my goals to myself. Is it as effective as submitting them to my friend? Probably not, but it’s a tough one to measure.
    Happy Easter!
    Michelle

  3. laurie says:

    I’m managing multiple writing projects for the first time, so this post was especially helpful! So far I’ve found that it’s helpful because if I’m at a loss on one project, I can just direct my energy to another. But it’s kind of counterproductive when I need to work on one project and my other characters are beckoning me to come out and play 🙂

Leave a Reply

