3 Characteristics of Stories That Stick- Princess Bride Your Readers

Photo by deFig

Photo by deFig

“As You Wish.”

Just three simple words become the center of one of the most amazing stories of all time. It appeals to a wide range of audiences from romance, to adventure, to historical.

Princess Bride is quoted in a wide range of venues and its story still impacts us although it first became a movie over twenty years ago in 1987.

Why does this story have such a long lasting impression?

3 Characteristics of Stories That Stick:

*Courageous Characters. Is there any doubt that Wesley has all kinds of courage? He goes off to make money and is forced to become a pirate until he has enough money to come back and save the Princess. He faces sure death to be with his true love.

Princess Buttercup rises to the occasion when she realizes that she has not been abandoned. She refuses to become the queen, even if it means she will die.

Indigo will do anything to avenge his father’s death. He is willing to try to break into the castle and go after a high adviser to the king.

*Varied Plot Elements. This story has adventures, pirates, sword fights, true love, and revenge. It reaches such a wide range of interests while still maintaining its core elements.

If you are writing a romance, you can still have elements of adventure, suspense, or mystery. You don’t have to include them all, but try to add a bit of fun to your genre with other elements that readers enjoy.

*Memorable Dialogue. This is one of the elements of the story that keeps it alive today. There are so many great one liners and quirky comments that we just keep talking about them. I can think of more than ten of them in less than a minute. How about you?

What is your favorite quote from Princess Bride?

About Michelle Lim

Author Michelle Lim is the Brainstorming/Huddle Coach with My Book Therapy Press and the Midwest Zone Director for American Christian Fiction Writers. Michelle’s romantic suspense is represented by Karen Solem of Spencillhill Associates and has gained contest recognition in the Frasier, the Genesis, and the Phoenix Rattler, winning the Genesis in 2015 for her genre. Michelle writes devotionals for The Christian Pulse Online Magazine and Putting On The New. Since her nonfiction book release, Idea Sparking: How To Brainstorm Conflict In Your Novel, through public speaking and online chats Michelle helps writers discover the revolutionary power of brainstorming to bring new life to their stories.

19 thoughts on “3 Characteristics of Stories That Stick- Princess Bride Your Readers

  1. I don’t quite know how to admit this, but I’ve never watched The Princess Bride. Something I must rectify! Great post though…gonna make me go rent the movie. lol

    • Michelle Lim says:

      You will love it, Pat!!! It is quirky, romantic, a dash of fairy tale style. So fun!

    • Pat- My writer’s group said I HAD to watch this movie so I did–just recently. It wasn’t my thing. At all. I didn’t “get” it. (What’s wrong with me, Michelle?) I thought it was so bizarre, definitely not my humor. I hope my tastes aren’t turing too “old!” Ha!
      Michelle

  2. “As you wish,” of course. Then there’s “Inconceivable!”

  3. susitravl says:

    I just saw the Princess Bride for the first time and I am in my 50’s. Great movie!

  4. JaniceG says:

    I have never seen this movie, but now I really want to. My son told me that it has been popular with some of the people he knows at school. For a number of years I did not see many movies so I need to do some catching up! Your post is making it quite “CONCEIVABLE” that I will get to see this movie!

  5. Melissa Tagg says:

    Favorite quote from Princess Bride? That’s so hard…there are so many good ones.

    Mawaiige…mawaige is what bwings us togeva today…

    My name is Inigo Montoya. You killed my father. Prepare to die…

    I do not think that word means what you think it means…

    Stop rhyming, I mean it!
    Anybody want a peanut?

    Okay, I’ll stop now. Great tips, Michelle!

  6. Arlene says:

    Good article, Michelle, incorporating a fun movie which a large portion of our culture can quote verbatim. One of my favorites: “Have fun storming the castle!” “Think it will work?” “It would take a miracle.”

  7. Mary Denman says:

    In my not so humble opinion, I think The Princess Bride is one of the most memorable movies ever made with the most quotable lines EVER! 😉 Seriously, I could quote the entire movie, as can my 5 kids. And we randomly do quote the movie. 🙂

    Love the entire scene with Max and the witch, I mean his wife.

    Max, “Don’t listen to her, she’s a witch.”

    “I’m not a witch, I’m your wife!”

    Then, when she’s chasing him around yelling, “Humperdinck, Humperdinck, Humperdinck!”

    Max says, “I’m not listening!”

    And the awesome line from Dread Pirate Roberts, “Good night, Westley. Good work. Sleep well. I’ll most likely kill you in the morning.”

    And, “You seem a decent fellow,” Inigo said. “I hate to kill you.”
    You seem a decent fellow,” answered the man in black. “I hate to die.”

    Okay, I’ll stop there….

    Yes, I’m a huge fan of the movie! But I can understand it isn’t everyone’s cup of tea. 🙂

  8. Mary Denman says:

    Sorry, a couple more: when Westley meets up with Fezzik, (the lovable Giant)….

    “Now what happens?” asked the man in black.
    “We face each other as God intended,” Fezzik said. “No tricks, no weapons, skill against skill alone.”
    “You mean you’ll put down your rock and I’ll put down my sword and we’ll try to kill each other like civilized people, is that it?”

    And:
    “I could give you my word as a Spaniard,” Inigo said.
    “No good,” the man in black replied. “I’ve known too many Spaniards.”

    Love this movie! 🙂

Leave a Reply

