How to Structure Your Blog For Readability – Do you feel like Russell?

Photo by somadjinn

Photo by somadjinn

Blogging is an adventure, at least for me. This first year the learning curve has been rather steep. I’m learning new things about blogging every time I post. Yet, I’m not an expert.

Just when I think I’ve got blogging figured out, some new snafu arises. Maybe you feel that way, too. You’ve followed the map and are close to your destination, but the map ends before you get there.

Kinda like this:

There are lots of posts about blogging, but maybe along the way you feel as if your GPS has gone missing. No one is reading your blog. No one is commenting.

You come to the conclusion that you aren’t a good blogger. Don’t lose heart. There are some simple things that can improve your blog’s readability which can in turn increase your readership.

How To Structure Your Blog For Readability:

*Keep the length between 300-500 words. If you have more to say about a topic, make a part two. People only have so much time to read.

Photo by labergquis

Photo by labergquis

*Use pictures. Pictures draw readers in to your blog. It makes it seem more interesting than just plain white text. We can see and absorb a picture and title rather quickly.

*Have short paragraphs and bullet or structure points. If a reader only has time to skim, they may choose just to read the bullet points in bold. That will give them the basic content of your post.

*Use bold letters for main points and occasionally variate color. Note: occasionally doesn’t mean every other paragraph. That would be distracting.

*Use video clips from youtube. How do you do that?

~Find a video on youtube that you would like to use.

~Click the share button below the video.

~Click the embed button.

~Copy highlighted text and paste it into your blog. (It will look like text until posted)

What is one of your favorite blogs? Why do you love it? (share the link, so we can check it out)

*******

Last week’s Fan Friday Winners:

“Idea Sparking: How to Brainstorm Conflict in Your Novel – Patti Shene

“”The Truth About Conferences” – Alena Terry

“$10 Amazon Gift Card – Michelle Saint-Germain

Congratulations Winners!

About Michelle Lim

Author Michelle Lim is the Brainstorming/Huddle Coach with My Book Therapy Press and the Midwest Zone Director for American Christian Fiction Writers. Michelle’s romantic suspense is represented by Karen Solem of Spencillhill Associates and has gained contest recognition in the Frasier, the Genesis, and the Phoenix Rattler, winning the Genesis in 2015 for her genre. Michelle writes devotionals for The Christian Pulse Online Magazine and Putting On The New. Since her nonfiction book release, Idea Sparking: How To Brainstorm Conflict In Your Novel, through public speaking and online chats Michelle helps writers discover the revolutionary power of brainstorming to bring new life to their stories.

10 thoughts on “How to Structure Your Blog For Readability – Do you feel like Russell?

  1. This is one of my favorite blogs–my go-to for brainstorming and just general writing tips. I’m learning a lot.

  2. Barb Winters says:

    I love my friend’s blog: http://defeatdespair.wordpress.com/
    Love the theme and love the writing!

  3. These are great tips, Michelle. Some, like keeping it between 300-500 words, I’ve heard about. Using the bullet points, that one’s new. 🙂 I’ll have to structure some of my posts that way. I have a hard time finding pics to complement my theme, but maybe I’ll have to do some more looking. Where do you find yours?

    THere are a number of blogs I like. One, is Beth Vogt’s: http://www.bethvogt.com

    Her posts are pertinent and thought provoking, and she keeps them short. Her pictures and quotes are always good. And the conversations are also great.

    I like yours too; I’m learning lots. I like other blogs for learning content–writing craft, business savvy, and deepening my understanding of the writer’s life.

    Thanks for sharing, Michelle!

  4. Elizabeth Bohan says:

    I love your blog for it’s structure. Even if I only have a few minutes to spare, I know I can read it and gain great information. I have learned so much from your blog. It is one of my favorites!

Leave a Reply

