10 Blogging Tips To Improve Results – Gilligan’s Island Type Stranded

 

When I first started blogging, I had moments where I felt stranded and unsure of what to do next. Sort of like this:

I did have the benefit of an amazing Social Media Coach, Edie Melson, to help out. Here are some things I learned along the way.

10 Blogging Tips To Improve Results:

*Be an avid blog reader. If you want to be a great blogger, start by reading other blogs and learning what is popular. Never quit learning new things.

*Post 2-3 times a week. It is better to start with the concept less is more. Somehow in the middle of it all, you still have to have time to write and building your platform won’t happen overnight. Pace yourself to avoid burn out.

*Invite your blog readers to interact. Include content of interest, ask provoking questions, and reply to comments in a timely manner.

*Plan special events on your blog. Contests, guest authors, and fun events/parties bring in readers. We all like to be part of a celebration.

*Prepare some blogs ahead of time. There will be times when you get too busy to blog. Vacations, science projects, contests, deadlines, and other life interruptions are normal. Plan for them.

*Add links to other popular blogs or writing information. This will allow you to draw visitors to your blog and promotes excellence in your community.

*Learn to tag your blog posts effectivelyLearning how to use great tag words to get noticed. Use most Googled topics in recent weeks and other interest words for tags. Make sure a straight forward title is one of them. (How to and 5 Tips are great starters. If you have a fun title, put it at the back to improve search outcome.)

*Use other social media venues to announce your posts. Facebook, Twitter, Google+, and others are all ways to get your message out there and announce new posts.

*Avoid becoming a one station advertisement. Share other excellent blog posts and successes with a ratio of at least 5 to 1. The one being your blog or news.

*Learn Hootsuite. It may seem overwhelming to learn another venue of social media, but it allows you to schedule your tweets, facebook posts, etc. ahead of time. So you can spend 15-30 min. in the morning and be done with posting for the day.

What have you learned about blogging? Tips/Or Disasters We’d love to hear it.

About Michelle Lim

Author Michelle Lim is the Brainstorming/Huddle Coach with My Book Therapy Press and the Midwest Zone Director for American Christian Fiction Writers. Michelle’s romantic suspense is represented by Karen Solem of Spencillhill Associates and has gained contest recognition in the Frasier, the Genesis, and the Phoenix Rattler, winning the Genesis in 2015 for her genre. Michelle writes devotionals for The Christian Pulse Online Magazine and Putting On The New. Since her nonfiction book release, Idea Sparking: How To Brainstorm Conflict In Your Novel, through public speaking and online chats Michelle helps writers discover the revolutionary power of brainstorming to bring new life to their stories.

12 thoughts on “10 Blogging Tips To Improve Results – Gilligan’s Island Type Stranded

  1. Great tips. Now if I can just motivate myself to rework my website and blog AND write a few blog posts…saving all these posts to refer back to when I do! lol

    • Michelle Lim says:

      It is tough when you are super busy. Be patient with yourself. Write several blog posts and have them banked so you can pace yourself into the future. You can do it, Pat! I know you can!

  2. dtopliff says:

    You always have great tips and output. May God refresh and strengthen all of your input.

  3. ediemelson says:

    Michelle, these are great tips! I’d love to have you guest blog on my site about Social Media Brainstorming (Doesn’t that spark all kinds of ideas? It does for me!) – let me know if you’re interested. Blessings, E

  4. olivecollins says:

    Hi Michelle, thanks for the tips. I’m not as computer savy as I’d like to be but just signed up to google plus, I’ll have to read the “manual” slowly to understand the ins and outs. I’d never heard of Hootsuite – that will be my homework for tomorrow night. Great blog. Olive

    • Michelle Lim says:

      Olive, so glad you left a comment. I am constantly learning new technology things, not my strength. But there are lots of people in our writing community who are willing to help. Keep up the good work!

  5. Michelle, these are great tips! As a new blogger, I’m soaking up as much info as I can to be an effective blogger. Thanks for the suggestions on tagging my blogs. I’m still trying to figure that one out. 🙂

  6. Michelle Lim says:

    Thanks, Jeanne for sharing your blog info.!

Leave a Reply

