Brainstorming Blog Topics – Of Chocolate, Life, and Writing

Photo by svilen001

Photo by svilen001

A year ago last month I took the plunge and started this blog. Since then I’ve blogged topics from “Do You Have What It Takes To Be Chicken?” to “I Died At Gate B4- 5 Tips to Pace Yourself On The Writing Journey.”

I’ve learned a lot with you this past year  and I am grateful for your part of my journey. This week I will share a few tips I’ve learned along the way and some resources with solid information.

First, I’d like to give credit to someone who taught me a lot of what I know. Edie Melson covers Social Media on her blog and her new book “Connections: Social Media and Networking Techniques for Writers.” You can find her on My Book Therapy Chats the fourth Monday of the month at 7pm CST.

One of the biggest deterants I hear from writers about blogging is that they don’t know what to write about. Brainstorming topics before even starting your blog, or long before having to write one helps you to avoid writer’s block.

5 Tips to Brainstorming Blog Topics:

*Understand your readers. This is first and foremost important thing to consider before brainstorming your blog topics. If you don’t connect with your readers, then there is no reason to write.

If you write romance, then think of topics that fall inside of that. If you write biographies, think of fascinating people your readers would love to hear about. I blog about writing because my first book is a nonfiction book for writers.

*Once you have a focal point for your blog topics, brainstorm a list of subtopics. This is just a list of words or phrases that are topics in your focal point’s category.

Example:        Focal Point – Mystery

Possible Subtopics- Unsolved Mysteries or Guess the Ending

*Brainstorm a list of recent personal life highlights. Vacations, conferences, family life (you don’t have to share names to share the fun), hobbies, etc. Connecting these to your topics will help your readers connect to you.

*Do an internet search to find out the most common Googled topics in the past month and make a list of the top twenty. This is one thing that will change frequently, so you will have fresh material to add every month.

*Pick the subtopic you want to talk about and look at the other lists for things you can connect. For example, if I am writing about perseverance as a writer, I might take a story from my family life where I have seen perseverance. 

Another possibility is to talk about a contestant on American Idol and how they have persevered, or talk about how far you would go to have the most amazing chocolate.

One of the most important parts of this is to brainstorm each list separately without considering the other topics. This allows you to avoid the pressure of coming up with an idea right away.

What are your favorite types of blog topics?

About Michelle Lim

Author Michelle Lim is the Brainstorming/Huddle Coach with My Book Therapy Press and the Midwest Zone Director for American Christian Fiction Writers. Michelle’s romantic suspense is represented by Karen Solem of Spencillhill Associates and has gained contest recognition in the Frasier, the Genesis, and the Phoenix Rattler, winning the Genesis in 2015 for her genre. Michelle writes devotionals for The Christian Pulse Online Magazine and Putting On The New. Since her nonfiction book release, Idea Sparking: How To Brainstorm Conflict In Your Novel, through public speaking and online chats Michelle helps writers discover the revolutionary power of brainstorming to bring new life to their stories.

13 thoughts on “Brainstorming Blog Topics – Of Chocolate, Life, and Writing

  1. So glad you started this blog! I always come away with ideas. This one reminds me I need to rework my blog and get a focus. And you provided it. Mystery. Now to have time to write a few and schedule them!

  2. dtopliff says:

    You’ve had some great ones this year & these are good tips if I venture into more regular blogging. I’m not a chocolate fan but otherwise you’ve hit the mark many times–your childhood reminiscences, writing skill tips, parent-child stories, and much more. Congratulations and keep it up.

  3. Stacy Monson says:

    Congratulations on a successful first year, Michelle! You’ve covered some fabulous topics and helped countless writers on their journey. (not to mention inspiring me to start my own blog) Blessings on many more years of teaching and encouraging.

  4. Wow, it’s been a year already? Congratulations!!!

    I’m always amazed at how you come up with such relevant, helpful, & creative topics–to me, that’s the most difficult part of blogging. I’ll definitely employ your brainstorming strategies.

    Thank you!

    And best wishes for the coming year!

  5. ediemelson says:

    Michelle,
    GREAT ideas for brainstorming blog post topics. I’m going to bookmark this post and refer folks to it. I get asked this a lot! Thanks so much for the mention – Blessings, E

  6. Tonya says:

    I’m really glad you started this blog and wrote your book 🙂
    I need to find a better focal point for my blog. I started it to review books and found I don’t like writing reviews (though I love reading books) I don’t want to talk about myself so I just don’t k ow what to do 😦

    • Michelle Lim says:

      A lot of writers struggle with this Tonya, so don’t feel bad. Stop and think about who your book audience is…that is the group you want to write to. If you write historical romances…think about fun days in history…maybe one day is name this item and have pictures of historical period objects/clothing and have a contest to figure out what it is…another day could be this week in 1953 and feature all of the things that happened that day…try to have historical romance writers be guests on your blog…etc. Top 10 things I wish I could have done in history…or anything like that.

      Thanks for the kind words about my blog!

Leave a Reply

