Tulsa Terrific – A Shout Out To The Tulsa Chapter of ACFW

Photo by Vince Mooney

This past week I had the awesome opportunity to speak at the Tulsa chapter of American Christian Fiction Writers.

They rolled out the red carpet with an amazing soup and salad lunch. Did I forget to mention the brownies? DECADENT!

The thing that amazed me most about this wonderful group is how much I learned just by spending time with them.

Top Five Things I learned In Tulsa:

1. A Servant’s Heart always leaves an impression. In the Tulsa group was the sweetest woman of faith, Kathy Cohea. While others visited and talked story, she worked to put away tables and clean up. Never asking for help. A smile on her lips. I have to admit, she challenged me to always remember to have a servant’s heart.

2. Dedication doesn’t know distance. When you are really committed to your writing career, you continue to work hard to grow even if it means going out of your way. There were several there that drove quite a distance to join the workshop. ‘

3. Sacrifice is part of the journey. One particular writer stood out to me, Laurie Tomlinson. She just finished her first manuscript and struggles to balance the responsibilities of a mom and writer. As Mom’s we often sacrifice sleep and down time to be a writer.

4. Experience doesn’t end a writer’s need to grow. Kathleen Y’Barbo Turner and several other published authors that attended our group amazed me with their tenacity. They continue to strive for excellence to become their personal best.

5. There are some really strange festivals in small towns around the country. LOL! Don’t believe me? Google a few.


In our writing community there are so many things that we can learn from each other. We never arrive. Never quit needing one another. I’m so grateful I got to enjoy a taste of that in Tulsa!

What have you learned from your writing community?

About Michelle Lim

Author Michelle Lim is the Brainstorming/Huddle Coach with My Book Therapy Press and the Midwest Zone Director for American Christian Fiction Writers. Michelle’s romantic suspense is represented by Karen Solem of Spencillhill Associates and has gained contest recognition in the Frasier, the Genesis, and the Phoenix Rattler, winning the Genesis in 2015 for her genre. Michelle writes devotionals for The Christian Pulse Online Magazine and Putting On The New. Since her nonfiction book release, Idea Sparking: How To Brainstorm Conflict In Your Novel, through public speaking and online chats Michelle helps writers discover the revolutionary power of brainstorming to bring new life to their stories.

13 thoughts on “Tulsa Terrific – A Shout Out To The Tulsa Chapter of ACFW

  1. Thank you so much for sharing your brainstorming wisdom and encouragement! It was so nice to meet you in person!

  2. Vince Mooney says:

    Hi Michelle:

    You gave a wonderful presentation with major conference class handouts. They are as good as I’ve ever seen for a talk. Every serious writer should try an hear you talk if they get the opportunity.

    BTW: the photo does not show up on my computer. I’ll be happy to email the photo(s) as attachments if you need them. Of course, it could just be code that needs tweaking.

    What have I learned in my ACFW group? 1) getting outstanding quality does not depend on the size of the chapter. 2) the generals in writing (those with dozens of published books) are as friendly and approachable as the new recruits – if not more so. 3) the support is genuine as other members take actual joy in seeing others succeed. 4) these are serious people with goals. 5) as my wife said after visiting her first ACFW chapter meeting: “Those are all really nice people”. I said, “I hope so. If you can find nice people in a group of Christian romance writers, you won’t find them anywhere.” My wife said, “No, I mean really, really nice.” ☺ That’s the impression I’ve always had.

    I hope to hear you again. Thanks for coming to Tulsa.

    Vince

    • Michelle Lim says:

      Vince,

      Thanks so much for all of the kind words! I had a wonderful time visiting with all of you as well. I’m not sure why the picture isn’t showing up, but if you send me an attachment, I will try to reload it. Definitely want everyone to see the picture of this amazing group!

  3. Michelle,

    Thanks soooo much for traveling so far to speak to us. It was a real blessing, and I learn some new brainstorming techniques. I hope you and your family discovered some fun things to do while you were in town.

    • Michelle Lim says:

      Thanks, Vickie! We had a wonderful time in Tulsa! We visited the Philbrook Museum, the Tulsa Zoo, and the Air and Space Museum. The kids had a wonderful time and so did we! I will probably be posting more vacation pictures in future blogs and on Facebook. My hubby loves to hit the food network places on vacation, so we ate some amazing food. I appreciate the warm welcome and everyone’s sense of humor!

  4. Lisa Jordan says:

    Michelle, I’m so glad your workshop went so well. The things you blogged about are also great characteristics in writers–servants hearts, dedication, continual learning, sacrifice. Way to go!

  5. Michelle, what a joy to meet you in person! Your session was just what I needed – I’ll be referring to my notes often, I know. Thanks for the handouts. Glad that your family enjoyed Tulsa. You know what they say down here – Don’t be a stranger! Welcome back, anytime.

    • Michelle Lim says:

      I enjoyed meeting you too, Carla. It’s wonderful to hear the tips are helping you in your writing. I would love to come back to Oklahoma! We had so much fun hitting all the Route 66 spots and museums. Our kids didn’t want to come home they were having so much fun. Nothing better than a combo of writing, family, and site seeing…and the food!

  6. I’m so glad others had a chance to meet and hear you. You are an awesome teacher and encourager, not to mention brainstormer!

  7. Michelle Lim says:

    Hey all, thanks so much for hosting me!

Leave a Reply

