Fan Friday Book Give Away With Guest Author Liz Johnson

Today I’d like to welcome Author Liz Johnson. I read her debut novel a few years ago, The Kidnapping of Kinzie Thorn, and I was hooked. She has graciously offered to give away a copy of her new book to someone who leaves a comment.

liz johnson author 20

Liz Johnson graduated from Northern Arizona University in Flagstaff with a degree in public relations and works as an editorial and marketing manager at a Christian publisher. She is a two-time ACFW Carol Award finalist, and A Promise to Protect is her fourth novel with Love Inspired Suspense. Keep up with Liz’s adventures in writing at www.lizjohnsonbooks.com, Twitter @LizJohnsonBooks, or Facebook.com/LizJohnsonBooks.

~~~~~

When I was in college, someone handed me a novel about a Navy SEAL. I devoured that book and a shelf full of others featuring these elite warriors. Then I started reading the biographies and true stories about SEALs, and my admiration only grew. I was hooked. So when my editor asked me what I was thinking about for my next books with Love Inspired Suspense, I didn’t hesitate. Navy SEALs.

I’m so glad that she agreed with me because I just couldn’t get the SEALs of (fictional) team FIFTEEN out of my mind. My SEALs all had such unique personalities. But almost all SEALS have a few things in common, and these things make them exceptional heroes for romantic suspense novels.

Liz Johnson cover9780373445189

1. Determination – Before he can earn the trident pin that makes him officially part of the teams, a SEAL endures months of grueling training. In his book Lone Survivor, Marcus Luttrell, who was a member of SEAL Team TEN, writes about getting “wet and sandy,” which is pretty much my worst nightmare. SEAL candidates are instructed to run into the icy Pacific ocean, drenching themselves head to boot before rolling along the beach until sand covers nearly every inch. And then the work begins–running miles, carrying boats over their heads, and more. And who can forget the fourth week of Phase One, known simply as Hell Week? Five days and five nights of physical and emotional extremes and a constant reminder that they can drop out at any time if they want.

Meeting these demands requires a never-say-die mindset. This kind of determination is pretty important for a hero who has to chase down villains with zero respect for human. It also comes in handy for heroes trying to the win the hearts of spunky heroines, who aren’t interested in settling down or have been burned one too many times.

2. Smarts – Lest you think that the demands are mostly physical, SEALs have to be incredibly smart. They have to collect and analyze intel, sometimes on a moment’s notice knowing that lives are at stake if they don’t make the right assessment. They execute complex operations that require any number of moving parts. And every SEAL has a specialty (or three). Because they often spend time abroad, SEALs sometimes must learn several different languages.They’re often dropped in unfamiliar territory and must follow maps and their training to safety. There’s no doubt that SEALs are sharp, and smart guys make the best heroes–at least in my book.

3. Teamwork – Early on in SEAL training, candidates are assigned a swim buddy, someone who is always by their sides. These two-person teams support and encourage each other through the mental and physical strains of BUD/S (Basic Underwater Demolition/SEAL) School. Not only do they learn how to work together as a team, the swim buddy’s needs come first. That commitment to serve someone else first makes for a great romantic lead. I know that he’ll go into any romantic relationship knowing how to care for his heroine first. There isn’t much more attractive than that for me and for my
heroines, too.

These are just a few reasons why I love Navy SEALs. Far from perfect, they’re men dedicated to valor and honor, willing to lay down their lives for their brothers. They’re tough yet still take the time to compliment little girls with pink bicycles. Make no mistake, you wouldn’t ever want to be hunted by them. But I tip my hat to the men of the United States Navy SEALs, who are more than great book heroes. They’re real life heroes, too.

Would you survive as a Navy SEAL for a week? Why or Why not?

About Michelle Lim

Author Michelle Lim is the Brainstorming/Huddle Coach with My Book Therapy Press and the Midwest Zone Director for American Christian Fiction Writers. Michelle’s romantic suspense is represented by Karen Solem of Spencillhill Associates and has gained contest recognition in the Frasier, the Genesis, and the Phoenix Rattler, winning the Genesis in 2015 for her genre. Michelle writes devotionals for The Christian Pulse Online Magazine and Putting On The New. Since her nonfiction book release, Idea Sparking: How To Brainstorm Conflict In Your Novel, through public speaking and online chats Michelle helps writers discover the revolutionary power of brainstorming to bring new life to their stories.

33 thoughts on “Fan Friday Book Give Away With Guest Author Liz Johnson

  1. M. Saint-Germain says:

    Hi Michelle and Liz –
    I might survive WITH a Navy Seal, but not AS a Navy Seal. I’m fairly sure that I’m too much of a wimp. I don’t have the smarts, determination, and stamina to endure what they do. However, maybe if I were in a situation where I had to be the heroine I’d rise to the occasion, but I’d have to have my 8 hrs of sleep, my own pillow, my coffee, and my favorite shoes first.
    Great post and best of luck on A PROMISE TO PROTECT. It sounds awesome!
    Michelle

  2. Melissa Tagg says:

    Fun post! Oh man, I do NOT think I’d survive for a week as a Seal. But oh how much fun it’d be just to have out with a Seal for a week. 🙂

  3. I’d like to think I would survive a week as a Seal. lol. And maybe when I was in my twenties, I would’ve. Great post and great insight into what it takes to be a Navy Seal!

  4. I wouldn’t make it an hour, especially if I had to rely on a map. I am so directionally challenged. 🙂

  5. dtopliff says:

    Survive their tasks physically?–not a chance. Enjoy the world view and mental challenge?–yeah, lead me to it. These books sound good. I’ll make sure to get acquainted.

  6. Don E. Prichard says:

    I have some sense of the training that a SEAL must go through. I am a retired Marine Colonel. I was the Iowa high school mile run champion my senior year of high school and attended college on a track scholarship.To earn my commission I went to Quantico, VA for six weeks between my freshman and sophomore year of college. Two thirds of the men dropped on request. I was back again for the advanced training for six weeks between my junior and senior year. Another 50% dropped on request. After graduation from college and out of the group that finished The Basic Office School I finished in the top 5% of my class in military skills. I do not honestly think I could have made the grade to become a SEAL.

  7. dabneyland says:

    I got tired and cold reading point 1. Their endurance amazes me. I, sadly, would not make it past the first hour of training. Thanks for sharing a peak into their world. I’m intrigued to read more.

    Dabney

  8. Oh I’d survive for a week in the company and protection of a Navy Seal! I highly respect the disciplined training and dedication of the military special forces. Many train and few are chosen. Look forward to reading this book and going on the adventure of a lifetime!

  9. Michelle Ule says:

    Love the line about the pink bike:-)

    SEALs remind me of Francine Rivers’ book The Last Sineater–some one has to do the dirty work, take on the “sins” of the world so the rest of us can live “free.”

    They pay a very high personal price–one I am not willing to pay. We should all be grateful to them.

    And no, I would not make it past the initial screening, though I MAY be able to hold my own against one in Zumba! 🙂

    • Liz Johnson says:

      Great point, Michelle! Someone has to take on the hard stuff so we can live free. I’m so great fil to them.

      And thanks for hosting me today!

      • Liz Johnson says:

        Well, my auto correct didn’t like my spelling of *grateful apparently! It doesn’t change my gratitude. 🙂

  10. Linda Ortiz says:

    No, I don’t think I could do or be in the Navy Seal. But, appreciate those who are able to endure and accomplish such a difficult task and position in the military. What an honor! Can’t wait to get your book!

  11. I’m certain I would be a puddle of self-pitying tears within an hour of arriving at boot camp. My hat is off to these brave heroes.

  12. Maryann says:

    I would never survive as a NAVY seal but I do admire their strength, determination and character. My cousins friend is a SEAL and although I have never met him I admire him. He went through a bone marrow transplant for leukemia and wants to get back with his team. Amazing courage for sure! I would love to read this book. It sounds suspenseful.
    Great interview!

Leave a Reply

