What’s In My Reading Queue? – Should I Add You? Do Tell

Fan Friday Give Away

1026767_65465560At the end of this post tell me what book you think I should add to my queue. If I select your book to add to my queue, then I will send you a free copy of that book to you from Amazon.

~~~

Writing is something I love to do, but before I ever became a writer I was a ferocious reader.

My sister and I had summer contests in middle school for who could read the most chapter books. Both of us usually ended up over 100 a piece. The library saw us coming and just knew they would be out a whole bunch of new titles.

What you read is extremely important for a writer. Yes, some books you read should be just because you love them. There are some purposeful reasons to read as well. You might find my list helpful.

How do I decide what to read?

1. The cover picture(tells me if they really are a high quality publisher- which in my mind means high quality writing), the back cover blurb, the first line of a novel.

2. Back Cover Blurb. I want to be engaged in the uniqueness of the plot and excited about the journey of the character.

3. Friend Referral. This is something that always gets my attention. If a friend loves it, I might love it.

4. The First Line. The first line of a novel is one of my determining factors, or sometimes the last line of the first scene. What I want to know is if this writer knows how to make me want to read more.

5. Award Recognition. The best sellers in my genre in both CBA and ABA get my attention. I try to read some from both lists. With ABA titles I may skim through any content I don’t want to read, but it is important to understand what is drawing readers.

So what is in my reading queue right now?

Here’s my next ten reads and how they got in my queue:

Fiction:

*Product DetailsSafe in His Arms (Under A Texas Sky) by Colleen Coble. Colleen Coble is one of my all time favorite authors. Her plots are fantastic. So naturally, her newest release is on my list.

Genre: Historical Romance Suspense (Thomas Nelson)

Product Details*Shattered by Dani Pettrey. I absolutely loved Dani’s debut novel Submergedso when my friend Brenda Anderson talked about Dani’s new book, I was delighted to know it was available.

Genre: Romantic Suspense (Bethany House Publishers)

Product Details

*Midnight Shadows by Carol J. Post. This book snagged me on the premise. (A woman on the run from her stalker must turn to the one man who believes her, but the same man already broke her heart.)

Genre: Romantic Suspense (Harlequin- Christian Fiction Division)

Product Details

*Flight of the Earls: An Heirs of Ireland Novel by Michael K Reynolds. CAN ANYONE SAY, “COVER, COVER, COVER!”  I’m excited about the story line of this book as well, but the cover is one of my favorites this year.

Gere: Historical (B&H Fiction)

Product Details

When A Heart Stops by Lynette Eason. This book got me totally on the premise and the unique occupation of the heroine. (Medical Examiner Serena Hopkins has a secret that may put her next on a serial killer’s list. Can she trust an old high school crush with the truth? Or will she be the next to die?)  Genre: Romantic Suspense (Publisher: Revell)

NOTICE: In selecting what I’m reading, I’m also reading a variety of publishing houses. It is important to get to know the different houses. I also read a lot in my own genre.

ABA Best-sellers:

 home front by Kristin Hannah. This book I found on last week’s best sellers on amazon. Then I read the premise and I really like this book.

Genre: Contemporary (Romance)

*Gone Girl: A Novel by Gillian Flynn. This book has been at the top of the best-seller list for weeks. It is in my genre and the villain is superb according to a friend. I may feel the need to skip some content, but I want to improve my villains and understanding of the market, so this is a must read for me.  Genre: Suspense/Thriller

Writing Craft/Profession Books:

Kiss & Tell

Kiss and Tell: How to Write A Romance by Susan May Warren. This book really focuses in on how to make to characters fall in love and layer a romance that your readers will love.  As a rule of thumb, I read all of Susan May Warren’s Craft Books because they break down story elements so well.

Connections: Social Media and Networking Techniques for Writers by Edie Me_9780984696994 Coverlson. This is a book I’m so excited to read because in the short time I’ve known Edie, she has taught me so much about social media and saved me boatloads of time!

What Should I add to my queue?

Pick either your book or another favorite to convince me to add to my queue. Whoever is the most convincing will get a free copy of the book they want me to read and I will buy one too.

About Michelle Lim

Author Michelle Lim is the Brainstorming/Huddle Coach with My Book Therapy Press and the Midwest Zone Director for American Christian Fiction Writers. Michelle’s romantic suspense is represented by Karen Solem of Spencillhill Associates and has gained contest recognition in the Frasier, the Genesis, and the Phoenix Rattler, winning the Genesis in 2015 for her genre. Michelle writes devotionals for The Christian Pulse Online Magazine and Putting On The New. Since her nonfiction book release, Idea Sparking: How To Brainstorm Conflict In Your Novel, through public speaking and online chats Michelle helps writers discover the revolutionary power of brainstorming to bring new life to their stories.

21 thoughts on “What’s In My Reading Queue? – Should I Add You? Do Tell

  1. This was my review on Amazon:
    From the haunting strains of a boy’s violin to the epilogue, Where Treasure Hides will keep you spellbound and turning pages. Johnnie Alexander Donley has done a masterful job creating characters that will linger with you long after you put the book down. Set against a backdrop of WWII, Alison and Ian struggle to overcome a family superstition and the evil threatening to destroy their world. This story so well captures the strength and grit and endurance of that era.

  2. bethkvogt says:

    I’m reading My Stubborn Heart by Becky Wade & I just finished Be Still My Soul by Joanne Bischof — just a few pages into Becky’s book, but I’ve heard so many good things about it. And I loved Joanne’s book!

  3. So excited for Edie’s book. Fun to see it in your list!

    I have to echo Beth, actually. My Stubborn Heart and both Joanne’s books are fab-u-lous! Anne Mateer’s At Every Turn is also sooo wonderful. OHHH, and Elizabeth Camden. Her latest, Against the Tide, was so, so good. And I’m just now starting Lisa Wingate’s Firefly Island. I’m about 90 pages in and it killed me to come to work this morning instead of keep reading. (Yes, I’m a gusher!)

  4. Cathy West says:

    Hahaha, you should definitely read my book, Hidden in the Heart. Why? Because you’re cool, and all the cool people are reading it. 🙂 LOL. Other than that, it’s a touching story of adoption, redemption and healing, so if you like that kind of thing, give it a whirl. If you’re looking for a bit more action and romance, try my first novel, Yesterday’s Tomorrow, about a young female journalist covering the Vietnam War.

  5. dtopliff says:

    I depend most on friends’ referrals and back-cover blurbs. I recommend Katie Ganshert’s Wishing on Willows based on loving her Wildflowers from Winter and hearing great comments from a mutual friend of ours who read an advance copy and loved it, says it’s even better.

  6. macolady says:

    Thanks for the list Michelle. You’ve mentioned a few that will now go on my cue. Our memoir in not fiction so it may not be your cup of tea. OUR WITCHDOCTORS ARE TOO WEAK is a series of quirky vignettes detailing the first 10 years living in the jungle with a remote Amazon tribe… learning their ways and just the plain awkwardness of it all. As a writer you’ll likely enjoy the chapters on breaking down the Maco’s unique language and developing a written form for it. The chapters are just 2-4 pages each…some are funny, some are gross, some are unexpected. Hey, if nothing else…good bathroom reading. ( ;

    IF you select OWDATW, we’d ask that instead of sending us a copy that you please pass it on to a pastor with a heart for missions.

  7. Keli Gwyn says:

    Since it looks like you enjoy both historicals and suspense, I suggest adding any of Bookie pal Sarah Sundin’s WWII historicals to your queue. Her first three books, in her Wings of Glory series, are about three brothers who served as pilots. Talk about great characters who stay with you. Hers do. And the stories are rife with action. Her new Wings of the Nightingale series is about three flight nurses in the African theater. The first is With Every Letter. I loved it and am looking forward to the next nurse’s story.

    You don’t need to buy me a book if I win. Sarah is one of my must-read authors, so I pre-order her books months in advance. 🙂

  8. Sue Harrison says:

    I’m loving the Ravensmoore Chronicles by Jillian Kent. The first novel is SECRETS OF THE HEART. I also have enjoyed Olivia Newport’s novels set in 1800s Chicago. The first novel of that series is “The Pursuit of Lucy Banning.”

  9. Let’s see, my Goodreads reading queue is 26 books deep right now, but a few are already out or will be releasing this month:

    ISCARIOT by Tosca Lee – Well, I love everything Tosca writes, so I know I’ll enjoy this. She’s very well researched, she touches on subjects that others won’t go near (Who writes a book with Judas Iscariot as protagonist?!), and she gets us to consider a different point-of-view. I love books that make me think, and Tosca’s do that.

    THE AIR WE BREATHE by Christa Parrish (about a girl who won’t leave her home) – Christa is an amazing wordsmith–I love her prose. Christa takes on tough, emotional subjects, and, like Tosca Lee, she gets the reader to think beyond our own little world.

    THE SKY BENEATH MY FEET by Lisa Samson – Lisa Samson is another brilliant writer. Her characters are often quirky, but believable, and she’s an author who gets the reader to think. (Hmm, can you see a pattern here?)

    JANUARY JUSTICE by Athol Dickson – No one can write beauty like Athol Dickson. When I want to savor a book’s prose, I just pick up one of his.

    And, as you mentioned above, SHATTERED by Dani Pettrey. Can you think of a better setting than Alaska? I really enjoyed Dani’s first novel, Submerged, and look forward to revisiting the McKenna family.

    A cover might attract me to the book, but the back cover blurb will get me to open it. I love books with unique subject matter, unique protagonists, book that make me think. I love musical prose. And, as you can tell by my above choices, author is probably the largest factor in why I choose a book. I’m very loyal to my favorite authors.

Leave a Reply

