Fan Friday – Announcing Winners – Favorite New Resource

Last Friday’s winners are: 

1026767_65465560$10 Amazon.com gift cards:

 Ruth Dell and Alena Tauriainen

Book- The Truth About Conferences: 

Carla Kilpatrick

Book- Idea Sparking: How to Brainstorm Conflict in Your Novel

Lori Ness

~~~

Favorite New Resource- Kiss & Tell By Susan May Warren

Yes, I know…all of you die hard writers out there have read the latest craft book by the time it hits the shelf, but I’m a bit behind. I purchase the book the moment it is available and then it sits in the cue.

Before this week, I’ve skimmed different sections of Kiss and Tellbut now CoverI’m actually starting at the beginning and working my way through. Can you believe it? I found great ideas to apply by page 2.

What inspired my deeper reading besides really wanting to finally get the chance? I didn’t love my hero. That’s right, my book hero was flat.

Probably doesn’t happen to you, but I didn’t even like my hero he was so flat. Then I stumbled on this thought in Susan May Warren’s book that gave me an idea, I needed a “Boy Scout Moment”

What is a Boy Scout Moment?

This is what Susan May Warren says, “A Boy Scout moment is taking a small, yet memorable act, and building it into one of the early chapters of a book allowing us to like the hero until his Noble Cause is apparent.”

I had a boy scout moment alright, but not in the right place. I needed to move it much earlier in the story. And it isn’t just something kind for someone else, it shows tenderness and not always when the heroine is on the page.

I used to think this moment was for the heroine to fall in love with the hero, but it is also for the reader to fall in love with the hero.

Placement of the Boy Scout Moment is monumental to creating a reader who loves the hero.

What is your favorite Boy Scout Moment in a book or movie?

About Michelle Lim

Author Michelle Lim is the Brainstorming/Huddle Coach with My Book Therapy Press and the Midwest Zone Director for American Christian Fiction Writers. Michelle’s romantic suspense is represented by Karen Solem of Spencillhill Associates and has gained contest recognition in the Frasier, the Genesis, and the Phoenix Rattler, winning the Genesis in 2015 for her genre. Michelle writes devotionals for The Christian Pulse Online Magazine and Putting On The New. Since her nonfiction book release, Idea Sparking: How To Brainstorm Conflict In Your Novel, through public speaking and online chats Michelle helps writers discover the revolutionary power of brainstorming to bring new life to their stories.

11 thoughts on “Fan Friday – Announcing Winners – Favorite New Resource

  1. Probably when Clint Eastwood stops to pet the dog while he’s being chased by the bad guys. lol

  2. Julie Klassen says:

    Fun! I’ll have to check out the book. Thanks.

  3. dtopliff says:

    I’ve bought Kiss & Tell–now just need time to work thru. In terms of boy scout moments, my mind hit search and came up w/ Humphrey Bogart being a gentleman to missionary Katherine Hepburn in classic movie, The African Queen. Ancient history, I know, but unforgettable.

  4. Carla says:

    Oh, cool! I hardly ever win anything! LOL

  5. jackielayton says:

    I bought this at conference and haven’t had time to really go through it. You’ve encouraged me to get with the program. Thanks.
    Have a great weekend!

  6. Michelle Lim says:

    Love hearing that I’m not the only one with a reading cue.

Leave a Reply

