5 Tips To Focus Your Time When Distractions Are “Cheaper By The Dozen”

1201943_71512515Holidays are over. Kids are back in school. Everything is back to normal.

WHY CAN’T I CONCENTRATE FOR MORE THAN 5 SECONDS?

We have those amazing goals, our word for the year, shoot we even have deadlines. Still, we sit in the chair and look out the window, distract ourselves with tweets, and guzzle coffee until Starbucks has a brick with our name on it.

Is it any wonder when we spent the last month eating way to much junk food, spending time with dysfunctional relatives (Not mine of course…LOL), constantly aware of our guests to be the perfect host/hostess? Can any one say fun and a dash of crazy?

Time to get our focus back. Move into the new year with purpose and confidence. I know just the crew to help us out.

5 Tips To Focus Your Time:

1. Narrow Your Focus – You can only do so many things at one time.

You may have many things you want to accomplish, but let each day have it’s own focus. Mainstream blogging to one day and plan ahead. Spend one day more focused on networking.

2. Gather Your Tribe – They Support and Promote You.

As Seth Godin states in his book Tribes, it is important to know our tribe and work together to accomplish a goal. They are our supporters and we need their help and personal investment in what we are doing.

3. Make A List Of Priorities – Review this often to see if you are on track.

Chasing after our dreams is important, but if we leave our tribe behind, we miss the point. Opportune involvement must be agreed upon.

4. Designate What Is Sacred.

Every day you should write something, anything to keep the writing flowing. Get in the zone and don’t let anything stir you. Have a signal prepared to others that this time is to be respected at all costs.

5. Shut Yourself Off From Distractions.

When you are writing, Wear headphones, work in a place where you have limited distractions. If you have a propensity for tweeting your day away, post a note on your computer that says, “No tweeting until ____ words.

What do you do to help you focus?

Don’t forget our contest. . . everyone who signs up for my newsletter by clicking the image to the right by Friday enters a drawing for 4 amazing prizes, including 2 $10 gift cards to amazon.com.

 

About Michelle Lim

Author Michelle Lim is the Brainstorming/Huddle Coach with My Book Therapy Press and the Midwest Zone Director for American Christian Fiction Writers. Michelle’s romantic suspense is represented by Karen Solem of Spencillhill Associates and has gained contest recognition in the Frasier, the Genesis, and the Phoenix Rattler, winning the Genesis in 2015 for her genre. Michelle writes devotionals for The Christian Pulse Online Magazine and Putting On The New. Since her nonfiction book release, Idea Sparking: How To Brainstorm Conflict In Your Novel, through public speaking and online chats Michelle helps writers discover the revolutionary power of brainstorming to bring new life to their stories.

15 thoughts on “5 Tips To Focus Your Time When Distractions Are “Cheaper By The Dozen”

  1. Jessica R. Patch says:

    I go totally offline, text my husband to say, “I’m going dark for X amount of time” so when he tries to text or call and I don’t answer he won’t go ballistic and assume I’m in a ditch somewhere–by my own or someone else’s doing. That really helps me focus and I play soft worship music in the background and make a cup of tea! 🙂 Great tips, Michelle!

  2. Perfect tips, Michelle.

    I create a daily list to help keep my focus. Not only does it give me a visual of what needs to be done, but I also have the satisfaction of crossing out completed projects. I’ve found when I don’t make the list, my focus scatters.

  3. dtopliff says:

    I get up early, and when I’m really serious (gasp) turn off background T.V. (Am starting to do that far more often.)

  4. Cathy West says:

    SBICAW – Sit Butt In Chair And Write!! I have to remind myself of this daily. You are correct, there are far too many distractions out there. I usually need a quiet house and I go into my office to get away from all other distractions. Some days it works, some days it doesn’t. 🙂

  5. Set Alarm for 5 a.m. Don’t shut it off at 5:01 a.m. Then SBICAW, like Cathy said.

  6. jeannemt says:

    I set a timer and write until it goes off. This helps me stay focused, knowing that I can veg for a few minutes after I’m done with that writing period. I need to get back in the habit of doing that consistently. I think I’ll do it now. 🙂 Thanks for your tips, Michelle. I especially liked the reminder to check my list of priorities often to make sure I’m staying focused on the important things.

  7. jackielayton says:

    Do you know how much time I spent thinking about my word for this year? After I decided, I asked my husband if he had a word to focus on for 2013. He looked at me like I was crazy. And he hangs out with a bunch of seminary people.
    I needed your post today. I started my day by making a list of goals just for today. I’ve got to get focused.

    By the way, long story short, instead of one word, I picked a phrase. “Thy Will Be Done.” I think it’ll be an interesting year.

Leave a Reply

