Writing Resolutions For Writers Part 1

901416_69787654A New Year “fresh with no mistakes.” I love that phrase by Anne Shirley in Anne of Green Gables when she talks about each day.

We have a brand new year ahead of us, now we have to decide what we are going to do with it. And what about those beastly resolutions?

Did you know that a study by the University of Bristol in 2007 shows that 88% of people fail to keep their New Year’s resolutions?  Wow, that is not exactly a powerful endorsement.

416459_4922One thing we do learn from this study is how important community is for those who meet their goals. When we have finished setting our resolutions or goals, grab a buddy and encourage each other to reach that goal this year.

Writing Resolutions for Writers can be divided into two components, the big picture and the symptoms of success.

A friend gave me this first idea a few year’s back and I’d like to share it with you. Author Beth K. Vogt  Skills Coach at My Book Therapy told me that she picks one word to represent her goals for the year.

This word will frame everything that you want to accomplish. Seem impossible? Think more general. Words like dream, hope, excellence, etc.

If you struggle to find this word, start by writing down some of your goals and then find a word that could frame them. Last year my word was believe. I bought a Christmas ornament with that word and purposed my goals to mesh with that word.

My word this year is balance. Balance in faith, family, health, and career. All of my goals come out of this word. When I look at success, I will be assessing if I’ve achieved more balance in my life.

1013655_88297884

Writing Resolutions for Writer’s Part 1:

Now it’s your turn to start writing your resolutions. We will dig deeper in part two, but for now complete the following steps:

1. Pick a word to frame your year. What do you feel will boost your success this year? That is what you want this word to focus on.

2. Pick a verse or quote that embodies this word. There are going to be times when you get discouraged and fight forward progress with this word. Find a verse, or a quote, or both to post to help you when you are discouraged.

3. Pick some categories in your life that you want this word to impact. Remember these are still more general. Try to keep this to four or five categories, or you will get overwhelmed before you even start. Write down the word and categories. Be thinking about them the next day or so.

4. Pick a buddy. Pick a friend who you can share your goal with and encourage one another this year.

What word did you pick to represent your year?

About Michelle Lim

Author Michelle Lim is the Brainstorming/Huddle Coach with My Book Therapy Press and the Midwest Zone Director for American Christian Fiction Writers. Michelle’s romantic suspense is represented by Karen Solem of Spencillhill Associates and has gained contest recognition in the Frasier, the Genesis, and the Phoenix Rattler, winning the Genesis in 2015 for her genre. Michelle writes devotionals for The Christian Pulse Online Magazine and Putting On The New. Since her nonfiction book release, Idea Sparking: How To Brainstorm Conflict In Your Novel, through public speaking and online chats Michelle helps writers discover the revolutionary power of brainstorming to bring new life to their stories.

19 thoughts on “Writing Resolutions For Writers Part 1

  1. Great word! I love a fresh start, a clean slate! I shared my word today too. Beth inspired me last year and it was so much better than resolutions b/c I never stick to it.

    My word this year is Joy!

  2. Lisa Jordan says:

    I agree with you (and the studies) about resolutions. We suffer amazing guilt when our expectations fail to meet reality. I chose freedom for 2013. Like Jess, I blogged why too.

  3. dtopliff says:

    That’s a great word, Michelle. Wishing you well. Mine is acceptance, largely meaning slow down, take a deep breath, and move forward building confidently.

    • Michelle Lim says:

      Delores, I’m always amazed at how you attack life with such a zest. Acceptance can be a challenge, but I know that you can tackle that, too. Thanks for sharing your word with us!

  4. Alena Tauriainen says:

    Hi Michelle,
    My words are a continuation from last year. I guess, God isn’t through with me yet. Discipline and Diligence! I need the discipline to find the time and stick with the writing as my schedule is never the same. Diligence to see it done.

    Blessings!

  5. […] that flaw brings me to the real gist of today’s post. Thoughts on Plot provided a great exercise for setting goals for 2013. (I refuse to use the R word.) Here’s […]

  6. Carla says:

    I decided to dedicate a blog post about it. My 2013 word is “finish”!

  7. My word is humility. Even before 2012 ended I saw why God chose this word for me to focus on this year. Love your word. Balance. That might be mine for next year.

  8. Happy New Year. Loved this post as I am a long-time practitioner of the one word resolution. In 2012 my one word was CREATE.

    My church – all 5000 of us – have done this for about seven years now. In fact my pastor Mike Ashcraft and I just released the new book with Zondervan My One Word: Change Your Life with Just One Word.

    Perhaps you’d enjoy it. Maybe you could let your readers know about this tool as well? Beth V. is reading it and saying she’s enjoying it. I’d love for you to come post your one word BALANCE at http://www.myoneword.org.

  9. JaniceG says:

    I like the word “trust” for 2013. “Trust in the Lord with all your heart…”

    This is a great approach to setting goals for the new year. Thank you!

  10. Michelle Lim says:

    I just love all of the variety of dreams here!

Leave a Reply

