NaNoWriMo Tips From The Trenches – Brainstorming Warm-Ups

Don’t forget to stop by tomorrow for the Idea Sparking Party. We will announce the winner of the Free Kindle Paperwhite and give away other prizes like an hour of free brainstorming consultation with Michelle Lim and much more. Don’t miss it!

~~~

Brainstorming Warm-Ups For A New NaNoWeek:

*Research has shown that crossing the midline of your body increases brain function. Do the wave from one side of your body to the other, crossing past your nose to reach the other side.

*List 5 things you’ve done that are harder than NaNoWriMo. If we realize what we have done before that we managed to accomplish despite the difficulty level, it puts our current challenge into perspective.

*Who is your favorite character in your story? Talk about them to your pet, your computer, your spouse or the wall as if you are introducing them. Tell what they are about to get into.

*What do you want to accomplish today? How are you going to achieve it? Brainstorming your goals can be just as helpful as brainstorming your story. It keeps you focused and on track.

*Write down three things to combat excuses you may have to quit writing or give up before reaching your goal, such as:

1. I may be crazy, but I’m not lazy.

2. Words make a book, excuses make nothing.

3. If I reach my goal today, I will ______________________ (something you love to do, eat, or buy).

*What secret is my character hiding from others? What does my character do because of it? This can build in some conflict in the scene you are working on.

*What are the goals, obstacles, and stakes for each of my scenes? Starting with this helps you to focus each scene. You will feel more prepared to start writing.

*What are the sensory details in my scenes? Go through each of the senses and make a list of one thing present for each thing.

NaNoWriMo is a great challenge, but you are up for the task! What are some brainstorming warm-ups you are trying this week?

About Michelle Lim

Author Michelle Lim is the Brainstorming/Huddle Coach with My Book Therapy Press and the Midwest Zone Director for American Christian Fiction Writers. Michelle’s romantic suspense is represented by Karen Solem of Spencillhill Associates and has gained contest recognition in the Frasier, the Genesis, and the Phoenix Rattler, winning the Genesis in 2015 for her genre. Michelle writes devotionals for The Christian Pulse Online Magazine and Putting On The New. Since her nonfiction book release, Idea Sparking: How To Brainstorm Conflict In Your Novel, through public speaking and online chats Michelle helps writers discover the revolutionary power of brainstorming to bring new life to their stories.

8 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Tips From The Trenches – Brainstorming Warm-Ups

  1. jackielayton says:

    Okay, maybe I am crazy. I’ve got a virus, my chest burns, but I’m getting ready to start writing for day 12 of Nano. Thanks for the pep talk!

  2. jackielayton says:

    Oh, I didn’t mention my brainstorming warm up. I stopped by to see your blog, That’s it. 🙂

  3. dtopliff says:

    An hour of free brainstorming time? Now that’s worth winning.

  4. I’m with Jackie…I stop by here to get inspired!

Leave a Reply

