NaNoWriMo Disaster Preparedness – Help, I Think I’ve Laid An Egg

Idea Sparking Blog Tour Stops This Week:

Wednesday:   TAG(G)LINES  Thursday: Lisa Jordan Books

Thursday 7PM CT – Meet the Author Online Live Chat (MBT)

Friday:  The Writer’s Alley            Joan Leotta’s Blog

Tues., Nov. 13th Idea Sparking Party & Free Kindle Paperwhite Drawing (Join the Celebration Here)

***

HELP, I Think I’ve Laid An Egg!

It is bound to happen sooner or later. You’ve set this amazing goal and now you have a day with absolutely NADA in your word count. Maybe it’s already happened. Maybe your day won’t come at all. Either way, it is best to be prepared for an egg so it doesn’t derail your dreams.

10 Things You Should Do Before Turning In An Egg:

1. Ask yourself why you were unproductive. Maybe it can be fixed, or at least avoided next time.

2. Commit to write one paragraph. Oftentimes we lay an egg because we are stuck. If we make ourselves write one paragraph, good or bad it sets the stage for a better tomorrow.

3. Close your eyes and imagine what your character will do next. Writer’s are driven by their passion for story. If the story starts speaking in your mind, you will probably want to get it on the page.

4. Restructure your word count goals for the week to take on the extra words each day. If it seems to overwhelming to do your five day word count plan in four days, add Monday in your next five day bail-out-of-the-hole count.

5. Call a writing buddy and talk story. We all need encouragers on this journey. Call one of yours and talk about your story, your dreams, your goals. You might surprise yourself by wanting to write before the night is over.

6. Add an incentive. When you do this, think of your love language and enlist your spouse or friends. Ask your spouse if they would give you a five minute massage in exchange for five hundred words. If that is not available to you, plan ahead to treat yourself to something. Have small and large incentives for yourself.

7. Take away something you love until you get the extra words done, or a set amount done. For me, this might be Mountain Dew, or a half an hour of my favorite TV show.

8. Make a list on paper of five reasons you like this story. Chances are you will realize it is easier to use these words on your story than on a list.

9. Pray for fifteen minutes about this challenge. This should actually be at the top of your list. When you are stuck, pray for inspiration and pray for your readers.

10. Just Say, “I REFUSE TO LAY AN EGG LIKE A CHICKEN, I’M A GROWN ADULT.” Okay, so that may only make you laugh, but at least you’re smiling.

Everyday forgive yourself for past mistakes and look to the future, not behind you. YOU CAN DO THIS!

What do you do to keep yourself from laying an egg?

About Michelle Lim

Author Michelle Lim is the Brainstorming/Huddle Coach with My Book Therapy Press and the Midwest Zone Director for American Christian Fiction Writers. Michelle’s romantic suspense is represented by Karen Solem of Spencillhill Associates and has gained contest recognition in the Frasier, the Genesis, and the Phoenix Rattler, winning the Genesis in 2015 for her genre. Michelle writes devotionals for The Christian Pulse Online Magazine and Putting On The New. Since her nonfiction book release, Idea Sparking: How To Brainstorm Conflict In Your Novel, through public speaking and online chats Michelle helps writers discover the revolutionary power of brainstorming to bring new life to their stories.

6 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Disaster Preparedness – Help, I Think I’ve Laid An Egg

  1. I make myself write on my WIP for 15 minutes (I actually set the timer)…figuring anyone can write something for that brief a time. I’ve never stopped at 15 minutes. 🙂

  2. Janet Kerr says:

    Hi Michelle,
    I wanted to let you know that I really enjoy your blog. I have tried to
    sign up a few times but the site never sends me an emai.
    My address is: janet_kerr@msn.com
    Perhaps you can do it manually??
    Jan

    • Michelle Lim says:

      So glad you are excited about joining my blog list. I will see if I can get the computer to let me sign you up. If not, I will have my techno buddy Edie Melson give me some expert advice. Thanks for being a faithful fan, Janet!

  3. maelilly says:

    teehee this funny, I came across your blog through Writer’s Alley and am loving it so far -I am doing Nano 🙂

Leave a Reply

