How To NaNoWriMo Without A Brain Freeze – Brainstorming Warm-ups For Week One

This week’s Idea Sparking: How to Brainstorm Conflict in Your Novel Blog Tour Stops Are:

Tuesday: Random Writing Rants     
Wednesday: My Book Therapy Brainstorming Blog
Thursday:   Write Reason Blog     
Friday:  Inspirational Sayings

(Drawing for the Free Kindle PaperWhite and  Blog Party will be Tuesday, November 13th.)

How To NaNoWriMo Without A Brain Freeze

There is that odd moment each year when I realize just how certifiable I am. Yes, it isn’t the month for parading my brain in front of psychologists to be sure. They would think I’m crazy, too.

Why?

I have this crazy notion that I can write a novel in a month. A few years back a friend of mine, Susan May Warren, mentioned she wrote a book in a month. I thought that was insane. I could never do that…could I?

I decided to do my best and figured I would prove her wrong. I stocked up on chocolate, mountain due, babysitters, and toothpicks to keep my eyes open in the wee hours of the night.

On the last day I typed, “THE END!”

It is possible to write a book in a month! YOU CAN DO THIS TOO!!!! IT’s called NANOWRIMO.

You can write a novel in a month and I’d like to challenge you to try. But just like singers warm-up before singing, authors should warm-up before sitting down to write. Warming up your brain can help you to avoid NaNoWriMo Brain Freeze.

Brainstorming Warm-Ups For Week 1:

(Do your warm-ups out loud to yourself, or to another pal)

*What do you like about the Point of View Character for scene one? (This should give you a reminder of the qualities of your character that you have already established.)

*What challenge will happen for my hero/heroine in the first few scenes? (You are setting up the story problem and giving us a reason to read it.)

*What setting would best showcase the scenes I’m writing today to build mood? How can I add the senses into those scenes? (If we are not purposeful about adding sensory details, we miss them often.)

*Why should the reader care about my characters in the beginning of the book? (Setting up character stakes or what they have to lose often resonates with readers. Also the character goal matters to a reader if it is something they care about as well.)

*What part of this story am I most excited to write? (If you start to hit a brick wall, this might help you get excited about the direction you are going again.)

*What am I going to write about today? (This question you should ask yourself each day. If you don’t know the answer just talk out loud about what you do know. It will jump start your thinking.)

Try these brainstorming warm-ups each day before starting your NaNoWriMo Writing. Pick and choose which questions will help you most on that day.

What do you do to warm-up for a big project?

About Michelle Lim

Author Michelle Lim is the Brainstorming/Huddle Coach with My Book Therapy Press and the Midwest Zone Director for American Christian Fiction Writers. Michelle’s romantic suspense is represented by Karen Solem of Spencillhill Associates and has gained contest recognition in the Frasier, the Genesis, and the Phoenix Rattler, winning the Genesis in 2015 for her genre. Michelle writes devotionals for The Christian Pulse Online Magazine and Putting On The New. Since her nonfiction book release, Idea Sparking: How To Brainstorm Conflict In Your Novel, through public speaking and online chats Michelle helps writers discover the revolutionary power of brainstorming to bring new life to their stories.

8 thoughts on “How To NaNoWriMo Without A Brain Freeze – Brainstorming Warm-ups For Week One

  1. Hi Michelle! Love this crazy face here. Know the guy? It is an amazing feeling to know we wrote 50K words in a month, isn’t it? Great tips here.

  2. While I’m not entering NaNo, I am shooting for 35k to finish my WIP, so these tips are great!

  3. cecilia says:

    OK.. good tips, off i go to think about them,.. oh.. what was that Point of View thingie again?.. c

  4. Melissa Tagg says:

    Great tips, Michelle. I’m not doing NaNo, but I have a big writing goal this month that will definitely have me writing upwards of 50,000 words. So your tips are super helpful! 🙂

Leave a Reply

