The Quirky Side of Me – Vote In The Great Popcorn Debate

Quirky is a word I use to describe myself every October and November in the presidential election year. No, don’t worry. I’m not going to talk about the candidates today, but simply my way of following the elections.

I grew up in a family that talked through ideas and issues just for the fun of it over Thanksgiving Dinner. No wonder I still love the discussion.

When there is a debate, major news coverage, or new poll I’m there glued to the news like a kid on an ice cream cone. I pop popcorn and watch to see what each candidate has to say. I get frustrated and rant at the television.

You would think I’m watching Sunday afternoon football. (I love that too by the way)

All of this leads up to the moment of Election Day. From the time I get my kids on the bus for school, I have the news on following every step.

We tend to eat take-out on this day. Once the kiddos are tucked in bed and the polls are closing throughout the country, I pop popcorn and watch the tallies come in.

Even when the win is announced, I wait for the final  numbers to come in. Why? Because I’m quirky. Why? Because I’m always amazed at how the people vote. Why? Because I’m so thankful to have the opportunity to be part of a nation who allows its citizens the opportunity to vote.

Here’s where you come in. I need to figure out what types of popcorn I should have there for the final night. Want to hang out with me on Election night?

What kind of popcorn would you eat if you were me on election night? 

Do you like to watch the debates and elections, or are you fed up by mid January the year before?

About Michelle Lim

Author Michelle Lim is the Brainstorming/Huddle Coach with My Book Therapy Press and the Midwest Zone Director for American Christian Fiction Writers. Michelle’s romantic suspense is represented by Karen Solem of Spencillhill Associates and has gained contest recognition in the Frasier, the Genesis, and the Phoenix Rattler, winning the Genesis in 2015 for her genre. Michelle writes devotionals for The Christian Pulse Online Magazine and Putting On The New. Since her nonfiction book release, Idea Sparking: How To Brainstorm Conflict In Your Novel, through public speaking and online chats Michelle helps writers discover the revolutionary power of brainstorming to bring new life to their stories.

10 thoughts on “The Quirky Side of Me – Vote In The Great Popcorn Debate

  1. I get too neverous watching the debates. lol Although I did tune in for the last 30 minutes last night.

  2. ediemelson says:

    I can’t abide politics. I vote and have very DEFINITE opinions, but the whole process frustrates me…and I have enough frustration in my life. I’m glad there are others willing to keep watch.

    As far as the debate, I could have watched it, but the Monday morning quarterbacks are going to spin it to turn out the way they want. During this season I try to spend more time in prayer and the Word.

    Thankfully, I have access to the One who has everything well in hand.

  3. lily says:

    As a news junky and fox news addict I love election nights. They are way more exciting to me than the Super Bowl or any sporting event. My kids love to “pretend” they are also the hugest fans possible so I will let them stay up with me. They do not seem to be quite as big of fans when I suggest waiting out in the rain for an hour to attend a political rally. The constant attention given by candidates to this rural state is my favorite thing about living in Iowa.

  4. jeannemt says:

    First off, I didn’t like only getting to cast one vote–I like all the types of popcorn you mentioned. 🙂

    Seriously, though, I rarely watch the debates. We seldom watch television anyway, but I hate seeing the ads that slam opposing candidates. I do my research and then vote. I do enjoy watching results roll in, but since I get up so early (at 0’dark hundred to be exact) these days, I usually end up reading it in the paper or turning on the news the morning after.

    I loved reading about one of your quirks. 🙂

  5. dtopliff says:

    I did appreciate the debate but find their are far too many ads and that they are annoying and far too expensive. I think the ads do little to inform or change anyone’s opinion. I’ll be very glad when this election is over but do serve as an election judge to do my part to help keep things honest.

    • Michelle Lim says:

      It is sad that so much money must be spent to keep up with the other candidates when that money would make an admiral dent in our deficit each year or to feed hungry kids or to help the homeless.

Leave a Reply

