5 Tips To Increasing Your Industry Connections – Is Anybody Out There?

Five years ago I went to my first American Christian Fiction Writers Conference. I knew no one. I was just shy of being scared of my own shadow. I came away with a handful of contacts, but didn’t know how to stay in connected much since I wasn’t into social media.

Since January of this year, I have jumped into blogging, twitter, and hootsuite. Wow! Talk about revolutionizing my communication network.

This past conference in Dallas I felt as if I were in the presence of family. A reunion. What a lot of difference 5 years can make. What a lot of difference in how I network.

There are ways to maximize your connection opportunities to build lasting friendships and forge strong industry connections. These are not your typical social media suggestions, but a model of relationship building to forge industry connections that last.

5 Tips To Increasing Your Industry Connections:

*Invest in others. It seems so simple, yet it is a very important part of connecting with others. Help someone with their WIP or pitch. Your thoughtfulness will not be forgotten.

*Celebrate Others Success Celebrate with those who are successful. This journey is too short to forget to celebrate with each other. Sharing in another’s joy forges strong relationships.

*Cry with others who are sad. This is HUGE. In the midst of your successful moments, there are others who have been stung by life. Put your own agenda aside and focus on the hurts around you. Those dreams that haven’t been realized.

*Follow-Up. When you come back from conferences or events take the time to follow-up with those you’ve met. Keep their contact information in an easily accessible location and touch base periodically.

*Personalize Your Interaction In Social Media. This is all about relationships and not just your writing. A great read to help build these relationships is Tribes:We Need You To Lead Us  by Seth Goodin.

Industry connections are long term if you plan to be a writer. Not every conversation is about you and your agenda. In fact, if you listen more than you speak it will show that you care and a connection is made. Ask questions and learn from these experts who’ve been in the industry longer than you, or specialize in a specific area.

What are some tips you have for increasing your industry connections?

About Michelle Lim

Author Michelle Lim is the Brainstorming/Huddle Coach with My Book Therapy Press and the Midwest Zone Director for American Christian Fiction Writers. Michelle’s romantic suspense is represented by Karen Solem of Spencillhill Associates and has gained contest recognition in the Frasier, the Genesis, and the Phoenix Rattler, winning the Genesis in 2015 for her genre. Michelle writes devotionals for The Christian Pulse Online Magazine and Putting On The New. Since her nonfiction book release, Idea Sparking: How To Brainstorm Conflict In Your Novel, through public speaking and online chats Michelle helps writers discover the revolutionary power of brainstorming to bring new life to their stories.

10 thoughts on “5 Tips To Increasing Your Industry Connections – Is Anybody Out There?

  1. I’d add posting comments on others’ blogs is a great way to make connections. Good suggestions, Michelle!

  2. Great tips, Michelle. I don’t think my ACFW experience would have been nearly as fabulous if I hadn’t gone in knowing my online friends. Connections are not only vital for your writing career; they are so important just for every writer’s sanity! We are not alone after all…and it’s so amazing to realize that.

  3. Michelle Lim says:

    I agree with you, Lindsay. We all need each other on this writing journey.

  4. It takes a village to write and sell a book, doesn’t it? I love your post. The relationships I’ve made over the last few years as a result of encouraging other writers has changed my life. I feel like I have a village of friends scattered all over the world. Some days it’s difficult to keep up with all of them. Other days I forget who’s who. (That could be an aging problem. Ha!) It’s tough because some I’ve never met in person but really want to. They’re like pen pals. I’ve bought their books and celebrated with them. I look forward to meeting them at a conference some day.
    Btw, thanks for all the encouragement you’ve given me, Michelle! I loved your photos of the ACFW fun. Thanks for sharing them. I felt like I got a chance to “see” so many friends. You all looked FAB.
    M

  5. Alena Tauriainen says:

    Michelle,
    You are so very right. I’m working on getting a blog ready for the new year. Slow and steady.
    I love meeting people on line and was absolutely amazed at how many people greeted each other like long lost friends because they hadn’t seen them in person but instead connected thru online blogs and such.

  6. Alena Tauriainen says:

    I guess I should say “when I was at ACFW” I was absolutely amazed….
    lol

Leave a Reply

