How To Survive Monday – A Tale Of Moose Slippers And Caffeine

Monday mornings are like the gum on the bottom of your shoe. You can’t seem to get rid of them. Oh, we put in a valiant effort to make the most of it, but often come away with little accomplished.

Some Mondays I spend the first half the day trying to wake up and the second half trying to accomplish a huge amount of items on my “to do” list. Trouble is that I don’t even know where to start.

I stare at my pink and blue flip flop moose slippers and ask myself, “Where did I go wrong last week? Surely I got something done.” But my “to do” list screams in my inbox that is littered with hundreds of unread emails.

I reach for my chocolate and cradle it in my hands. I fortify myself with a cup of Mt. Dew. I rifle through the bin of summer clothes in the garage looking for my sunglasses. Maybe those seventies rock stars knew what they were talking about.

Yep, I have survived all the Mondays up until today and I will probably survive those to come with the same haphazard way of living. Wow, what a waste! One seventh of my life caught between my pillow, caffeine, and a dose of the whiner bug.

Today I’ve decided it is time to take charge of my Mondays. Don’t worry, I will still cradle my Mt. Dew and stare at my slippers, but only for a predetermined amount of time. I will probably still wake up feeling overwhelmed and sluggish from the weekend, but here is how I’m planning to change my Monday outlook.

How To Survive Monday And Still Make Progress:

*Allow yourself a small bit of Monday slug time. Give yourself a half hour or so to go through the whole I-really-don’t-want-to-get-up-today denial. Get it out of your system, but don’t live there the whole day.

*Start your day with something healthy. Too much sugar will make you lethargic and feeling yucky by lunch time. A brilliant mind requires healthy fuel.

*Do some exercise to get yourself going. Whether you like a swift jog, or prefer housekeeping aerobics get your heart rate up.

*Plan ahead the Friday before by writing a quick easy “to do” list for Monday. Divide this list from morning and afternoon. Select items in the morning that require viewer brain cells. Get your busy work done in the morning so you are fresh in the afternoon for the writing time.

*Cross off list items as you go. Each time you cross something off the list celebrate with a little Monday dance or five minutes of down time.

*Write something. Anything. This keeps your writing mind charged and excited for a new week. It will set the tone for writing accountability.

*Use a timer. Set the timer to work on your list. Maybe you set it for 30 min. to write by, or 30 min. to do social media. Keep your tasks varied enough to avoid drowsiness.

What do you do to help you survive and accomplish things on Monday?

About Michelle Lim

Author Michelle Lim is the Brainstorming/Huddle Coach with My Book Therapy Press and the Midwest Zone Director for American Christian Fiction Writers. Michelle’s romantic suspense is represented by Karen Solem of Spencillhill Associates and has gained contest recognition in the Frasier, the Genesis, and the Phoenix Rattler, winning the Genesis in 2015 for her genre. Michelle writes devotionals for The Christian Pulse Online Magazine and Putting On The New. Since her nonfiction book release, Idea Sparking: How To Brainstorm Conflict In Your Novel, through public speaking and online chats Michelle helps writers discover the revolutionary power of brainstorming to bring new life to their stories.

7 thoughts on “How To Survive Monday – A Tale Of Moose Slippers And Caffeine

  1. Love crossing things off a list. And I’m off in a few minutes to do #3. Swim.

  2. I can’t sleep in since I have work…and a new puppy who likes to yap. 😛 But I like the idea of creating a manageable list. I like lists.

  3. Melissa Tagg says:

    Good stuff, Michelle. What really helps me is my huge markerboard in my writing room. Over the weekend, I start my to-do list for the following week–adding to it as I think of things. And then I actually break it out by day and decide what I’m going to do each day. Sometimes I even decide when on each day I will do things. The dayjob makes getting all my writing stuff done a challenge–so the to-do list is a huge plus. 🙂

  4. I start with my Bible reading, then email and off to work. Then hopefully get to writing or editing when I get home.
    Next time I get drowsy though, I’ll grab my tennis shoes and walk.
    Hope you have a great week!

Leave a Reply

