Fan Friday Book Give Away: When Hard Work Catches Up With Your Dream

 

Fan Friday Book Give Away!

Enter a comment below and put your name in the drawing for a free copy of my new book. Idea Sparking: How to BrainstormConflict in Your Novel.                                                                                           

Some people are born knowing they want to write. I was totally oblivious to this possibility. Still, I read books as if I would starve without them.

My sister and I had summer contests of who could read the most books. The list of chapter books topped over 100. If it had print and landed on the wholesome side of the bookshelf, we read it.

My grandmother belonged to several christian book clubs, so every time we went to her house we came home with a box full of books to read and exchanged the next time we visited.

One day after my twentieth birthday I woke up with a, “Duh” moment. I should try to write a book. So, I sat down at my computer and typed for three days. Book one was born. And died in the same day.

Why? Because it was absolutely awful and I knew it. I figured I’d never be a writer, but God often has plans we cannot see. He had a plan for me.

I taught in Minneapolis Public Schools and I begin to see the resilience of the children in my classroom. What they rose above everyday to reach for success.

Why was I so sure that I would never succeed? The pity party was over. No more, “I can’t.” It was time for “I can.” After all, how could I expect my students to work hard to overcome challenges and not be wiling to do it myself?

That year my first “real” novel began. And now I am combining what I love, teaching and writing, in my brand new book Idea Sparking: How to Brainstorm Conflict in Your Novel.

 

You have a dream to write. Whether you were born with a pen in your hand or were as oblivious as I, you now know your direction. God can use any moment to wake us up to His purpose for our lives. Sometimes that purpose even changes.

For today, celebrate the purpose He has given you and believe in the direction He plans to take it!

When did you start dreaming to be a writer or to do something else you love? 

 

About Michelle Lim

Author Michelle Lim is the Brainstorming/Huddle Coach with My Book Therapy Press and the Midwest Zone Director for American Christian Fiction Writers. Michelle’s romantic suspense is represented by Karen Solem of Spencillhill Associates and has gained contest recognition in the Frasier, the Genesis, and the Phoenix Rattler, winning the Genesis in 2015 for her genre. Michelle writes devotionals for The Christian Pulse Online Magazine and Putting On The New. Since her nonfiction book release, Idea Sparking: How To Brainstorm Conflict In Your Novel, through public speaking and online chats Michelle helps writers discover the revolutionary power of brainstorming to bring new life to their stories.

24 thoughts on “Fan Friday Book Give Away: When Hard Work Catches Up With Your Dream

  1. dtopliff says:

    Good to hear your background and you definitely CAN do it. It was fun seeing your new book flying out of the ACFW book store. I do look forward to getting a copy–if I win, even better. May you have great success.

  2. jackielayton says:

    Hi Michelle,
    You are such a great encourager!
    Last night I went to my son’s college tennis tournament. He started late learning to play tennis. His freshman year of high school. Most good players start before grade school.
    He’s worked hard and now plays college tennis. This is an ITA tournament (pretty big deal). He’s playing singles and doubles.
    I started late seriously writing. I get scared and wonder why I’m doing this. BUT I can’t imagine not writing. So I write.
    And when your novel gets published, I want to be in line for an autographed copy.
    Thanks for sharing today!
    Jackie

  3. I “wrote” a ton of books (not novels) when I was younger. I took creative writing in high school. But at that point, I decided I really didn’t have anything original to say and that there was too much competition out there to ever succeed as a novelist. So I gave up the dream and pursued another love: editing. I got degrees in journalism and English.

    During my grad program, I took a fiction writing class. And I caught the bug again, more than 10 years after giving up the dream. It’s like God was preparing me for it all that time, and I went through a lot, grew closer to Him. Now, I have something to say. It just wasn’t God’s timing before.

  4. When I was 35 these people came to live in my head and they wouldn’t go away until I started writing about them. And that’s when I started writing. I’d always thought I could, just never really thought I could…if you know what I mean. lol

    Don’t enter me in the contest–I already have my book!

  5. Hi Michelle!
    No wonder why you’re a great writer, you were a voracious reader first! I would love to win your new book, but even if I don’t I’ll buy it and promote it because I believe in you and your heart to teach. It’s gotta be good. You always encourage me.
    I’m not sure exactly when I decided to “be” a writer. I’ve always enjoyed it and my parents always encouraged it. But I’m one of those who believe I can do anything I set my mind to do. This is America. And writing has become my passion and I won’t stop until I die. I have so many stories to tell.
    Love you,
    M

    • Michelle Lim says:

      Thank you so much, Michelle! I appreciate your encouragement. You are right we are blessed with a country where we can decide what we want to do with our lives and chase after the things that we love!

  6. jeannemt says:

    I read a forbidden book when I was in eighth grade. At that time, I knew I wanted to be a writer. But, I began to realize all that goes into writing a novel–coming up with characters? A plot? The experience to write it real? I knew I could never do it. A few years ago, I entertained the idea of writing non-fiction, but the kids were so small and consumed all my time. Two years ago, God gave me a story begging to be written. He also gave me an incredible friend/encourager/mentor to help me. And He led me to MBT, which showed me that I can write. A book. The End.

    The process is so much more difficult than I ever imagined it would be, but oh, so rewarding. It’s drawn me closer to God, forced me to depend on Him, and He’s filled me with more stories than I have time to write. 🙂

    I’m definitely going to read your book. Congratulations, my friend!

  7. Hey, Michelle! I remember I was in fourth grade and my teacher told us to write a creative story about childhood. I said: “Did it really have to happen, or can I make it up?” She said I could make one up – and that was the moment the seed was planted. I remember writing a story about my best friend and I as three year olds. It was so much fun to “make up” a story and I’ve been doing it ever since!

  8. thank you for sharing your story! inspiriting…
    my mom kept me in books as a chiid by taking our walks to the town library 🙂 birthed the love for reading & desire to write naturally evolved from that ~ I’m forever grateful!

  9. lily says:

    Congrats Shell on the book! As the fellow contestant in those reading contests I have not caught the bug to write; but I applaud all of the effort it requires. It is inspiring to think it is never too late to reach for a goal.

  10. amy hahn says:

    Like you, Michelle, the dream had to come find me. I never planned to write but always loved to read…made the mistake of thinking, “how hard can it be?”. Hard. But i have learned much more than the writing craft on the journey and will forever be grateful!

  11. JaniceG says:

    I have enjoyed writing all of my life. Reading has been an enjoyment, too. During the summers we always kept those lists of books on the forms the public library provided. I wish I could get my hands on even one of those old lists.It would be fun to view the handwritten list and maybe check out some of those children’s books to revisit with the characters.

    Am I too late to enter the contest for your book? It would be great to win it.
    Blessings, Janice jsmithg(at)hotmail(dot)com.

Leave a Reply

